One Egg Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Easy To make, everyone liked it, I added lemon Zest and used lemon juice, also drizzeled lemon with sugar over top. Nice texture, made many times since finding the recipe. Florence
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Florence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
I really didn't care for this recipe. It lacked flavor and was on the dry side. I cooked this for 50 minutes as others had to do. I've made pound cake numerous times and this didn't measure up. I don't think I'll be playing with this recipe since I have a light version of pound cake that turns out well, but requires light sour cream. Sorry Kimberley, I wish I could be more positive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
Oh, but what a wonderful cake it is. Very lemony, full of character, a little rum added after baking made it all better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Evelyn Paradies

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Very easy to make. Good tasting and nice texture. The only fault I can find is that it does not bake in 30 min. I needed about an extra 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
The recipie needs a lot of work to be able to produce a good pound cake. I reduced salt to 1/2 tsp. Also, cream the butter with the sugar first, then milk/eggs, then drys. I used 2 tsp lemon extract and could barely taste it - use more! I baked for 55 minutes (toothpick finally clean) and the cake turned out dry and crumbly. Definitely use a lemon glaze. I am going to try this recipie again and will revise my review later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
I really liked the texture of this cake. However It was not lemony at all. I made a glaze for it using the juice from 1 lemon, and 1 cup of icing sugar, I brushed it all over and it melted into the cake. This made it very delicious. I also used the left-over glaze and drizzled it on a slice before serving. Everyone enjoyed it this way. When I make it again I will also add some lemon zest to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I thought this had no taste what so ever! It didn't even have a lemon taste to it and I put more than what the recipe called for.I gave this three stars because my three year old son and husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
I added lemon zest and juice from one lemon as other reviewers did, which punched up the flavor considerably. However this loaf took MUCH longer than 1/2 hr to cook, more like an hour. It rose nicely in the oven, but when I took it out it fell considerably and became a condensed lemon puck! I think it might have something to do with the cutting in of the butter and not creaming the sugar and butter together?? What other cake/loaf recipie cuts in butter? Too many changes are needed to make this recipie worthwhile - I would suggest trying another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Great texture and VERY easy to make. I also used 1 1/2 recipe to fill a 9x5 loaf pan and it baked about 70 minutes. I found it had a little too much salt and would have liked more lemon flavor. Added lemon zest and next time will add more and maybe some lemon juice. Could change the extract to almond, toss in some mini choc chips and have a totally different yummy cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
I have made this about 5 times now but I add about three tablespoons of poppyseeds. My mother-in-law says they taste just like what she used to get back home in Austria. Definately not as heaving as a pound cake, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States