One Egg Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I tried this recipe following it exactly. It was not done in 30 minutes, and the crust was rather tough. The cake was not sweet enough. It was easy to make and would be good in a pinch, but if I make it again I'll be sure to either bake it on 375 or for 50 minutes or more before trying to take it from the oven. It was very moist on the inside. I do not know if humidity affected the making of this cake, but it was a very damp, humid day when I baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Thank you to all the reviewers who added their comments Because They Were Helping. I tried the recipe as is but after tasting the batter I knew it needed more so I added another3/4 cup of sugar, 1/4 cup of lemon juice( I really love lemony cakes). With the changes the cake turned out wonderful. This is a good base cake but you definitely have to spruce it up. I gave it four stars because of the changes I had to make. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I just made this recipe. The milk made it soupier so I had to add more flour and rearrange the recipe. I baked y cake in 40 mins and still haven't had a chance to taste it yet. As soon as I get a chance to taste the pound cake I will give another review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I really loved this cake and so did the little ones. Recipe is fairly easy and quick. The baking time took me about 60 minutes, not 30, but after the baking, the cake was really delicious, crusty on the top and nice, soft, and moist in the middle. Will definitely be making this again. Instead of using lemon extract (I didn't have any on hand, I used actual lemon juice and lemon peel. It still turned out great.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Very good lemon pound cake. I did add two tablespoons of lemon juice and the zest of one lemon, since I love lemon. Thank you Kimberley for such a delicious and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I have to give this 3 stars because I didn't make it exactly as written and so I can only vouch for part of the method. I added an egg as I doubted only one egg would make a great cake (sorry). I added a full cup of milk as well as teaspoon of nutmeg and cinnamon. I rubbed in the butter as stated and beat the eggs before milk to it then added the vanilla. I then added this to the butter/flour mixture and beat (not mixed) until well blended and most lumps were gone. The cake was fantastic. A bit sweet but moist and dense and delicious. Very pound cake like. So while I changed some things, I can say that the method works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneDough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morne Jaloux, Saint George, Grenada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I made this and it came out wonderfully. Like others say below the cooking time does need adjusted - just bake it until a toothpick comes out cleanly in the middle (it should only be about an extra fifteen minutes; check every five because ymmv). I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firekame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I have made this cake several times. It does have to cook longer than stated (45 min. for me), but it is excellent, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I used this recipe to make gluten free vegan orange cupcakes. Swap all purpose for your favorite GF blend flour and OJ instead of milk, shortening for butter, 1/3 cup applesauce for the egg and its an allergy friendly treat for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Great recipe =) Nice and moist, and good for cupcakes too. The only modification that I make is adding 3 tsp of lemon essence into the cake batter, rather than 1 tsp (as we prefer the flavor to be stronger).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States