One Egg Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I just made this recipe. The milk made it soupier so I had to add more flour and rearrange the recipe. I baked y cake in 40 mins and still haven't had a chance to taste it yet. As soon as I get a chance to taste the pound cake I will give another review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I really loved this cake and so did the little ones. Recipe is fairly easy and quick. The baking time took me about 60 minutes, not 30, but after the baking, the cake was really delicious, crusty on the top and nice, soft, and moist in the middle. Will definitely be making this again. Instead of using lemon extract (I didn't have any on hand, I used actual lemon juice and lemon peel. It still turned out great.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Very good lemon pound cake. I did add two tablespoons of lemon juice and the zest of one lemon, since I love lemon. Thank you Kimberley for such a delicious and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I have to give this 3 stars because I didn't make it exactly as written and so I can only vouch for part of the method. I added an egg as I doubted only one egg would make a great cake (sorry). I added a full cup of milk as well as teaspoon of nutmeg and cinnamon. I rubbed in the butter as stated and beat the eggs before milk to it then added the vanilla. I then added this to the butter/flour mixture and beat (not mixed) until well blended and most lumps were gone. The cake was fantastic. A bit sweet but moist and dense and delicious. Very pound cake like. So while I changed some things, I can say that the method works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneDough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morne Jaloux, Saint George, Grenada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I made this and it came out wonderfully. Like others say below the cooking time does need adjusted - just bake it until a toothpick comes out cleanly in the middle (it should only be about an extra fifteen minutes; check every five because ymmv). I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firekame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I have made this cake several times. It does have to cook longer than stated (45 min. for me), but it is excellent, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I used this recipe to make gluten free vegan orange cupcakes. Swap all purpose for your favorite GF blend flour and OJ instead of milk, shortening for butter, 1/3 cup applesauce for the egg and its an allergy friendly treat for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Great recipe =) Nice and moist, and good for cupcakes too. The only modification that I make is adding 3 tsp of lemon essence into the cake batter, rather than 1 tsp (as we prefer the flavor to be stronger).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This cake is delicious ! I used a gluten free all purpose flour. You can use 1 tsp vanilla extract and 2 tsp lemon extract to make up for the "pasty" flavor some gluten free flours have. I always top my poundcakes off with a powdered sugar glaze....this cake is a winner !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
The cake was yummy. I added some chopped candied cherries to the recipe for color. Lighter option to the typical pound cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica__utley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States