One Egg Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2003
This recipe was incredibly simple. I added a lemon syrup made of 1/4 c lemon juice and 1/4 c of sugar. Placed on low heat until sugar dissolves and pour over cake. I also added a lemon glaze made of 1 c confectioner's sugar (sifted) 1 3/4 Tbs of lemon juice whipped together until smooth, and poured over a completely cooled cake. It was outstanding. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: College Park, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This recipe makes an excellent pound cake in my estimation...there's just not enough lemon flavour to justify its name. That's the only reason for four stars instead of 5. I added lemon zest to the batter; then drizzled a lemon juice/sugar solution over the fresh-out-of-the-oven cake and the lemon flavour was still very subtle. However, that being said, this is still an excellent pound cake and I won't hesitate to use this recipe again. By the way, I didn't cut in the butter as per instructions. I creamed the butter with sugar & egg, added the extracts, then added the dry ingredients alternately with the milk. Took about 50 minutes until done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This recipe has compelled me to write a review! Do not make this cake. I did not care for this recipe. And if I could have given it a negative star I would have. It took over an hour and a half to cook, not 30 minutes. The crumb was uneven in many places as well as flavors. And of course the crust was hard as a rock, but amazingly despite the 1hr 45 min cooking time , the inside was moist. I was forced to make a glaze because the cake isn't sweet enough. The Glazed Lemon Bundt Cake is much better. All that said... I wish people on this site would rate recipes only if they've actually used it as is. Frankly I am tired of people listing the dozen or so changes that they make to a recipe then giving it 4 or 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
This recipe works best for muffins! I used the same ingredients, but first mixed the flour, b.powder & salt. Then, separately, I creamed the sugar and butter and added the rest of the ingredients to this. I then folded in the dry ingredients to the wet. They made 12 muffins and cooked in 27 minutes. I also added a lemon glaze on top, and they were delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
This cake is really spongy and moist. I used cake flour instead and it turned out just sooo delicious. I baked it for 55 minutes but it didn't matter. My boyfriend is a picky cake eater, but he ate half loaf after he gave it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I think that you might have been using a convection oven because I had to bake this cake for at least 1 hour. I added a little more lemon than the recipe calls for and it turned out fantastic!! Thanks Kimberly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Great texture and VERY easy to make. I also used 1 1/2 recipe to fill a 9x5 loaf pan and it baked about 70 minutes. I found it had a little too much salt and would have liked more lemon flavor. Added lemon zest and next time will add more and maybe some lemon juice. Could change the extract to almond, toss in some mini choc chips and have a totally different yummy cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
I added lemon zest and juice from one lemon as other reviewers did, which punched up the flavor considerably. However this loaf took MUCH longer than 1/2 hr to cook, more like an hour. It rose nicely in the oven, but when I took it out it fell considerably and became a condensed lemon puck! I think it might have something to do with the cutting in of the butter and not creaming the sugar and butter together?? What other cake/loaf recipie cuts in butter? Too many changes are needed to make this recipie worthwhile - I would suggest trying another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
i had to double the recpie.I also used orange zest+juice instead of lemons and also made an orange syrup.It was awesome I'm going to make a blood orange+ a grapefruit one eventually...but next i'm making a key lime one substitutioning half the milk for cream cheese...wish me luck on the last one...fiances bday cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
Good recipe- I made 1 and a half the ingredients because I had a bigger loaf pan (9" by 5") and then cooked it for 1 hour and 10 mins. I also used cake flour (made the cake light and fluffy) but had no lemon essence so used one lemon and some zest of the lemon. This may not have been enough lemon for me but as I also made a lemon syrup to pour on the cake straight after it came out of the oven (see previous reviews), this really zinged up the lemon flavour. It was GREAT!!! and I will definitely make this cake again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAIRDINKUM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windhoek, Khomas, Namibia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States