One Egg Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2000
a simple but very good recipe. The important thing is not to let it overcook so that it doesn't became too crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2001
Everyone who tasted this cake loved it. I will definitely make it again. It was the best pound cake recipe I've yet to run across.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
It tastes really good, but I must be doing something wrong because it is not done in 30 minutes. It takes 50 minutes for this to bake. Has anyone else had this problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
I did have a similar problem with the baking. It took much longer than the 30 minutes and at the same time(like the other posting) if you bake it longer the cake crumbles. I will make this again. I like the flavor of the cake and the ease of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
It took 60 minutes to bake, but came out very nice. It wasn't too crumbly for my taste, though. I didn't have lemon extract so I used the grated rind of one lemon and that worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
This cake is really spongy and moist. I used cake flour instead and it turned out just sooo delicious. I baked it for 55 minutes but it didn't matter. My boyfriend is a picky cake eater, but he ate half loaf after he gave it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I think that you might have been using a convection oven because I had to bake this cake for at least 1 hour. I added a little more lemon than the recipe calls for and it turned out fantastic!! Thanks Kimberly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
This did not turn out well for me at all. I followed the recipe exactly and thought the batter was too thick but left it as it was. The cake was not done in 30 minutes so I kept adding 10 minute increments. When the toothpick came out clean, the pound cake was very dense and hard. I thought it needed more eggs in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
This recipe was incredibly simple. I added a lemon syrup made of 1/4 c lemon juice and 1/4 c of sugar. Placed on low heat until sugar dissolves and pour over cake. I also added a lemon glaze made of 1 c confectioner's sugar (sifted) 1 3/4 Tbs of lemon juice whipped together until smooth, and poured over a completely cooled cake. It was outstanding. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: College Park, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
Yummy fabulous cake! Took longer, I agree - about 50 minutes or so, but was scrump-dilly-umptious! I served this at a tea party, dusted with powdered sugar, sliced thin, and surrounded by delicate lemon slices and eye-catching ripe strawberries. Had to send the 2 leftover slices home with a girlfriend! My (picky) husband was disappointed...and you know that is always a good sign!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States