One Egg Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I added lemon zest. It was very good and as others mentioned, takes 50 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This recipe makes an excellent pound cake in my estimation...there's just not enough lemon flavour to justify its name. That's the only reason for four stars instead of 5. I added lemon zest to the batter; then drizzled a lemon juice/sugar solution over the fresh-out-of-the-oven cake and the lemon flavour was still very subtle. However, that being said, this is still an excellent pound cake and I won't hesitate to use this recipe again. By the way, I didn't cut in the butter as per instructions. I creamed the butter with sugar & egg, added the extracts, then added the dry ingredients alternately with the milk. Took about 50 minutes until done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This was exactly what I was looking for. I have now made it twice and my kids and bf loved it. It took longer than 30 minutes to bake though - more like 45-50. The second time, I added one cup of frozen cranberries for extra tartness. Easy and delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
It's really a great cake! it did take 50 minutes to bake but it's really yummy. I couldn't wait to taste it warm out of the oven this will be great with strawberries or a cup of coffee! thanks Kimberly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manteno, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
This turned out pretty good! It was really simple to make...I did make one change. I added a vanilla pudding cup to it since I didnt have any vanilla extract and it made it really moist. I served it with fresh strawberries and whipped cream, my family loved it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
i made mine so,dry and hard,i couldnt say its a cake either :( too bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilibeth:)

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Davao City, Davao, Philippines
Living In: Wajima-Shi, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I think cakes with more eggs actually taste better. But I also found a way to make this one more moist and taste more of lemon. Every 10 min I'd take the cake out, pour lemon juice on top and cover with thin layer of confectioners sugar. The top got a bit of coating and everything else got very moist. I also tried same cake with orange juice and it got even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
This cake was okay when it first came out of the oven but it wasn't very flavorful and it became dry soon after. Maybe I did something wrong but I thought I followed the directions exactly. I've made much better cakes and I made a lemon cake the following week that was to die for so I'll stick to that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
it over flowed and had a strange aftertase............... not that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I used fresh grated lemon zest instead of the extract - I prefer fresh. I brushed on a lemon juice and sugar syrup while the cake was still hot. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States