One Dish Chicken and Rice Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I don't know what I did wrong but I cooked it for about an hour and a half and the rice still wasn't cooked and it was watery. It was really a disappointment because I had been looking forward to trying it. Any advice as to how bake it better would be really appreciated. I am willing to give it one more shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wethersfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This dish was a big hit. It was simple yet very tasty. I added chipotle pepper flakes, which gave it a smokey flavour and a bit of a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dolores

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gravelbourg, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Very bland in my opinion. I used Cream of Mushroom soup and my husband and I didn't care for the way it came out. Needs extra seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandiroo1213

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I've made this a few times now, trying different variations. So far the hit has been to use Cheddar Cheese soup instead of the Cream of Mushroom. I also added in about 3/4 cup of shredded cheese and about 1/4 cup extra water. It does come out a little bland, but I haven't figured out what to add to it yet to give it the right flavor, maybe worchestershire sauce? Although, the last time I did it with the cheese soup & cheese, my husband had seconds - which he very rarely does, so it musn't have been too bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Pretty simple. I always add my own flavor to a recipe but the basics are great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly O.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
very easy to make and a favorite "comfort food"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Macy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
My wife asked me what I wanted to eat one day when I was working late. "How about the chicken and rice bake?" I said. A 30 minute driver later I was pulling in whilst my wife was pulling dinner out of the oven. She said it was unbelievably easy to put together and is now on our list of quick fix/in a pinch dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth and Luke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I added fresh mushrooms and used chicken broth instead of water. It took an additional 20 minutes for the rice to be done and the rice was ok but the chicken was blah and i even added garlic salt. Maybe i'll try it again but top the chicken with crused crackers and maybe some cheese at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I liked it! Needed a lazy way to get all of the food groups in. I diced my chicken, and also added about 1.5-2 c frozen broccoli flowrets. I didn't have paprika but used chili powder instead. Surprisingly good and minimal effort :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
After reading reviews, I decided to use 1 c. chicken broth instead of water. I upped the rice to 1 c. instead of 3/4 c. and for more flavor, I added about 1 Tbs. of Worchester sauce to broth and rice mixture. Also, I mixed together a Tbs. each of paprika, garlic salt, and season salt and sprinkled over the chicken legs. The dish was full of flavor. My husband loved it! So, that means I'll be making this again, and soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States