One Dish Chicken and Rice Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I tried this recipe just how it is first and noticed it was very very bland. I decided to turn this into a rice pilaf to add some extra flavor and also sear the chicken breasts before hand in a pan. Like most people, I used chicken broth instead of water. I also diced up, 1 small onion, 1-2 stalks of celery, and a can of mushrooms and threw that into the mixture to add more flavor. Everyone in my house is a rice lover so I ususally double the rice/soup/chicken broth and bake it in a 13x9 pan. I also pan sear the chicken over high heat with lawrys poultry seasoning and paprika to give the chicken a little extra flavor. This has become a weekly meal in the house, plenty of clean-up time while the dish is baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Looked too bland as is so I changed it as follows. Used a mixture of rices using 2 cups. Used chicken broth, 2 soup cans worth along with 2 cans soup. To rice mixture I added sautéd onions, red bell pepper and cremini mushrooms. I also put in a couple cups of frozen mixed veggies. Stirred rice mix together and added to a covered casserole. Chicken went on top but I pushed it in a little. I then sprinkled Mrs Dash on top and baked covered until chicken temped. The rice was creamy and there was a lot of flavor. My family wants me to make it again ASAP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
My mother raised us on this recipe, but instead of using paprika and pepper, she used dried onion soup mix sprinkled on the chicken. After removing the chicken from the rice add some of the soup mix to the rice instead of salt. it add a little oomph to the rice and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I added a few of my own favorite spices and used chicken breast strips and chicken broth instead of water. This dish was so yummy!!! I added a touch of garlic salt and seasoning salt before cooking. After baking 40 minutes I checked the rice and it was still a bit hard in the middle. I stirred it up (trying to scrape the bottom and not move the chicken too much) and baked another 10-15 minutes. Chicken came out moist and tasty, and all the rice was cooked. So YUMMY! I only wish I made more than the 4 servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kownz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Heyworth, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
definitely use broth in place of water, add the worcestershire sauce, and everything else the most helpful review said. I used a wild rice mix and added a can of mushrooms and it was SOOOO GOOD!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MorganFo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I love the recipe how it is, but my husband didn't care for it. So the second time I made this I doubled the rice used milk instead of water and used crm of chicken and crm of celery soup instead of crm of mushroom. I also added a bag of frozen broccoli and he loved it! Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna Streeter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I rated this 5 stars after taking Monte's suggestion. Also I used cut up chicken beasts and just stirred it all together. Our family was getting over a tummy bug and this was just the type of comfort/ gentle food we needed but with the modifications it wasn't bland or boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Used almond milk instead of water, Mexican rice from rice o'roni, and sprinkled some Slap Yo Mama over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
added chicken boullion, garlic and onion powders, 2or3 drop worchestershire, increased water to 1 1/2c and baked little longer. used legs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Tasted wonderful, however I did alter the recipe some. I used 1 1/2cups of chicken broth, instead of water. I also added garlic powder, onion powder, and I used cream of mushroom with roasted garlic. My only problem was that the rice could have been more cooked (and that was with adding extra broth.) My family loved it though, and ate every bit of it! No leftovers! Which is a miracle with my brood of picky eaters. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States