One Dish Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Great recipe! My family loved it. You can def taste the bourbon (but no alcohol taste) so make sure you use a decent kind. That may be why others had trouble with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
It was pleasant. The taste of the Bourbon was a change. But I wouldn't write home to Mum about it. In my personal recipe book it goes under the "I work, I get home tired, I have to cook. I want to eat something quick, easy and tasty".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
This was wonderful!! Not complicated with too many competitive flavors.. Divinely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I really didn't care for this. The sauce had no character, and couldn't even stand up to the rice I cooked. I didn't keep the recipe--I'll find something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Even my pickiest eaters LOVE this chicken. We are big garlic fans in our house, so I added an extra clove to the recipe when I prepared it. Some of the reviews say it was not flavorful enough, but as long as you season the chicken it shouldn't be a problem. This dish pairs wonderfully with roasted veggies (we like zucchini and summer squash) and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This recipe as is was very disappointing and VERY strong. Added a lot of things to the sauce and I was able to save the dish. I will probably submit my own recipe since it turned out great, I guess this recipe was a good start to my own. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Goff

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I liked this recipe and used it as a base to start with. I like to have more sauce. I added 1 cup of stock and 3 T of bourbon, 1 tsp of ground ginger, 2 T. of brown sugar and 1 tsp of Braggs amino acids (gluten free soy sauce) Simmer as stated and at the very end add corn starch to thicken. Delicious! Thanks Penelope for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makeitfresh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I would say I would make this again adding brown sugar though like one rater did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HONEYCHAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I made this, but admittedly tweaked it quite a bit. First, I seasoned my chicken with salt and pepper. I cut the butter and oil by about half and doubled the chicken stock and bourbon. The sauce was very thin so I thickened it with some more chicken stock mixed with corn starch, added 1 t. brown sugar and swirled in 1 T. butter. I also added sautéed mushrooms. I changed the cooking method by sautéing my chicken first and removing it from the pan. Then sautéed the onion and garlic and proceeded with the sauce. The simmering time given in the recipe is way too long. Once you’ve browned the chicken, it’s almost completely cooked, so be sure to cut back on the simmering time to maybe 5-10 minutes so your chicken won’t dry out. I think the changes I made improved this recipe, but it’s still not one I’ll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
personally i didn't like this recipe at all. there was absolutly no sauce so i ended up adding brown sugar, ketchup, soy sauce and water, then it was delicous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States