One Dish Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2000
Great recipe, my whole family loved it. I just added a bit of cornstarch to thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Excellent recipe...very easy and suprisingly very tasty. I am not sure why others bashed it. We are trying it with shrimp tonight. The sauce is excellent for dipping with bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
I don't want to say this but my family hated it. It tasted so strong. My kids refused to eat it and my husband asked me if I wanted to go out for supper. So that was good I guess I got a night out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
THIS WAS AGREAT RECIPE. THE FLAVOR WAS PERFECT. I DID ADD ONE TEASPOON BROWN SUGAR AND ONE FULL CUP OF CHICKEN BROTH AND THEN KEPT EVERYTHING ELSE THE SAME. tONIGHT WE ARE TRYING IT WITH BEEF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Villa Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This recipe ROCKS! Everyone I've served this to loves it! Jim Bean bourbon gives an awesome flavor. The only changes I make are to double the chicken stock and bourbon (4 tablespoons each), and to add 3-4 tablespoons brown sugar. Thanks for sharin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LGR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
This was horrible... the bourbon was not offset by the garlic and onion, the bourbon made the chicken too sweet. No one in my house ate it and none of us are picky eaters. I do NOT recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMANDA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I made this, but admittedly tweaked it quite a bit. First, I seasoned my chicken with salt and pepper. I cut the butter and oil by about half and doubled the chicken stock and bourbon. The sauce was very thin so I thickened it with some more chicken stock mixed with corn starch, added 1 t. brown sugar and swirled in 1 T. butter. I also added sautéed mushrooms. I changed the cooking method by sautéing my chicken first and removing it from the pan. Then sautéed the onion and garlic and proceeded with the sauce. The simmering time given in the recipe is way too long. Once you’ve browned the chicken, it’s almost completely cooked, so be sure to cut back on the simmering time to maybe 5-10 minutes so your chicken won’t dry out. I think the changes I made improved this recipe, but it’s still not one I’ll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2003
I was really disappointed in this dish. It just had no flavor at all. I doubled the bourbon and chicken broth and reduced after removing the chicken. Even the sauce itself didn't have much flavor. I will say this though, it was very tender chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
I didn't know what to expect when I was making it, but it turned out to be pretty good with rice. My husband really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I liked this recipe and used it as a base to start with. I like to have more sauce. I added 1 cup of stock and 3 T of bourbon, 1 tsp of ground ginger, 2 T. of brown sugar and 1 tsp of Braggs amino acids (gluten free soy sauce) Simmer as stated and at the very end add corn starch to thicken. Delicious! Thanks Penelope for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makeitfresh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States