One Dish Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Didn't work for me. I didn't think it had much tast to it. Perhaps thickening with cornstarch would have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
First try per directions: Something went wrong!! NO BOURBON FLAVOR!! I let the browned garlic/onions soak in the bourbon/chicken stock mix while browning the chicken. Perhaps the olive oil blocked out the bourbon; allowing it to evaporate while cooking?? I dunno. I'll look at some other suggestions, try this again--and hopefully solve the mystery and give this recipe a better star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bogalusa, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This recipe ROCKS! Everyone I've served this to loves it! Jim Bean bourbon gives an awesome flavor. The only changes I make are to double the chicken stock and bourbon (4 tablespoons each), and to add 3-4 tablespoons brown sugar. Thanks for sharin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LGR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This was very good. The whole family liked it. t wasn't what I was looking for though. I wanted it to taste like what we buy at the Cajun restaurant. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Added brown sugar and a little cornstarch. Very Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Excellent recipe...very easy and suprisingly very tasty. I am not sure why others bashed it. We are trying it with shrimp tonight. The sauce is excellent for dipping with bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This recipe was great. I didn't have any olive oil, so I used all butter (fat free kind). My husband loved it. We both scraped our plates clean with bread and he even licked the skillet. Definitely worth the effort!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I didn't have any bourbon so I put pale dry sherry in it. Even the kids ate all of it and asked when we were going to have it again. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
THIS WAS AGREAT RECIPE. THE FLAVOR WAS PERFECT. I DID ADD ONE TEASPOON BROWN SUGAR AND ONE FULL CUP OF CHICKEN BROTH AND THEN KEPT EVERYTHING ELSE THE SAME. tONIGHT WE ARE TRYING IT WITH BEEF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Villa Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
This didn't taste as I thought it would. It was a little bland. Not a WOW for my family but edible. I have written on the recipe "OK nothing special". That pretty much summed it up for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States