One Bowl Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
THIS WAS AMAZING RICE! I was feeling selfish and after my first bite, I was hoping that my family wouldn't like it so I could have the whole side dish to myself. However, they liked it as much as I did (so much for leftovers). I could eat this as a maindish...very tasty! I did reduce the soy sauce to 2 TBLS and next time, I will TRY it with only 1/4 cup of oil (the idea of eating 1/2 cup oil really gets to me) to see if it still tastes and cooks great with less. Still, very good! Thanks Kelly for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Yes this is easy to make, but it's too much salt, too much oil. The onion mix provides lots of sodium and MSG. 3 Tble. of soy sauce. That is alot of sodium. Then there is the sodium in the canned broth. Whew! Fast doesn't have to me high sodium and high fat. Cut down on the oil to a couple of tablespoons. Use julst a tsp or two of the soy sauce. Make your own broth and have it frozen in cubes ready to use in your freezer. There are ways of making this healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
Now this is what I'm talkin' about! This is my kinda rice. I cut the recipe to feed 4, and I just used 1 (14 oz) can of broth, and fresh mushrooms. I also used 2 tbsp. of oil, and 2 tbsp. of butter because like DREGINEK, I was a little weirded out about all of the oil. I was a little schocked when my husband wasn't touching his, because he loves all of the ingredients, but he said it was too sweet for his liking & he is a red pepper fan (the combo of it all, didn't do much for him..reminded him of southwest style, which he doesn't care for). Well, more for me, this was my dinner! When I reheated this I added some left over corn and black beans and it was EVEN BETTER!! Thanks for sharing Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
I really enjoyed this dish and ate it as a main meal. I followed the advice of cutting down on the amount of oil and used lite soy sauce to cut down on the salt. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
This was very good. I added a can of peas to it also. I forgot to put in the 1/2 cup oil but it didn't seem to make much of a difference. I will diffently make this again but I will cut it down because it does make a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
I thought this was good! I used chicken stock instead of beef, since I was serving this with roast chicken. I also used half white half wild rice, but the wild rice took longer to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
Such a delightful dish. Easy to make. Good flavor. I had it in the oven with meatloaf and it took 1 hour to evaporate the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
Cut recipe in half. I also substituted corn and carrots for the peppers and celery. Very good. Next time I might add a little extra chicken broth and cut back on the water to give it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Very flavorful and simple to make. Rice may take longer than time stated, though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEANNA
Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Metta Karuna
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
This was absolutely delicious. I didnt change a thing. I will definitely be making this again, although I may try omitting the soy sauce. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States