One Bowl Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
THIS WAS AMAZING RICE! I was feeling selfish and after my first bite, I was hoping that my family wouldn't like it so I could have the whole side dish to myself. However, they liked it as much as I did (so much for leftovers). I could eat this as a maindish...very tasty! I did reduce the soy sauce to 2 TBLS and next time, I will TRY it with only 1/4 cup of oil (the idea of eating 1/2 cup oil really gets to me) to see if it still tastes and cooks great with less. Still, very good! Thanks Kelly for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
I thought this was good! I used chicken stock instead of beef, since I was serving this with roast chicken. I also used half white half wild rice, but the wild rice took longer to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
Now this is what I'm talkin' about! This is my kinda rice. I cut the recipe to feed 4, and I just used 1 (14 oz) can of broth, and fresh mushrooms. I also used 2 tbsp. of oil, and 2 tbsp. of butter because like DREGINEK, I was a little weirded out about all of the oil. I was a little schocked when my husband wasn't touching his, because he loves all of the ingredients, but he said it was too sweet for his liking & he is a red pepper fan (the combo of it all, didn't do much for him..reminded him of southwest style, which he doesn't care for). Well, more for me, this was my dinner! When I reheated this I added some left over corn and black beans and it was EVEN BETTER!! Thanks for sharing Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
I really enjoyed this dish and ate it as a main meal. I followed the advice of cutting down on the amount of oil and used lite soy sauce to cut down on the salt. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
Cut recipe in half. I also substituted corn and carrots for the peppers and celery. Very good. Next time I might add a little extra chicken broth and cut back on the water to give it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
This was very good. I added a can of peas to it also. I forgot to put in the 1/2 cup oil but it didn't seem to make much of a difference. I will diffently make this again but I will cut it down because it does make a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
This recipe was the hit of my office party. Easy to put together and one awesome dish. I will be making ot often. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
yum I enjoyed this recipe very much and will make it again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATTT11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
I'm so sorry, but we didn't like this at all. It was edible, but a) way too salty (broth, soy sauce, onion soup mix) b) greasy (oil) Followed directions to the "T". The rice came out dry and hard, although it could be because I baked it in a Pampered Chef 9x13 stone baker (the pan absorbed some of the liquid?). However, I added a bit more water and did bake until it was done. After all that, I'd have been better off with a pre-made box rice mix like Lipton or Rice a Roni. I had to dump what was left, no one liked it It was edible, but that's it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Not a hit in our house. I love all the ingredients, but it was really missing flavour. It also took much longer to cook than the 45 minutes stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States