One Bowl Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I thought this cake was great. I was worried about the soup it turned into before putting it in the oven, but wow. I did up the cocoa just because I am a chocoholic and always do. Also, we are very big on nutritious foods, so even "junk" food gets a healthy upgrade here. I used coconut oil in place of oil, and it did not give it a coconut taste as an FYI. I used coconut milk in place of regular milk, and 1/4 c egg whites instead of an egg. I made my own butter frosting, which I did tweak to make healthier than a standard. That came out good, but I am not 100 % happy with it, so I won't share until I have it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
very soft and moist.. perfect for bday :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
My new best cake recipe, better than my grand mothers! I hope she doesn't read this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacques Lefebvre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Liz
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I used a cupcake pan and sprinkle with powdered sugar and topped with strawberries! My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Whenever I try a recipe from this site the first time, I customarily follow it to the letter. But for this cake, I decided to add a tablespoon of instant coffee just because I always do with chocolate cakes to enhance the flavor. And lucky thing, too because I forgot to add the vanilla. This is the best, moist, flavorful chocolate cake I ever tasted and the kids, who are my harshest critics, agree as well. For frosting, I decided to make try the fluffy, white frosting from this site as well, for nostalgia, as it was the frosting that my Mom also used when I was a kid myself. It was a perfect combination with the cake. It tasted like marshmallow with just the right sweetness. I'm happy that I finally found the perfect recipe for my chocolate cake. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I baked the in 9" pans as recommended and they made an awful mess all over the oven and the house smelled awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Made as a cake first and was delicious...moist and great flavor. I did use hald the recommended vanilla and sub 1/4 tsp. almost extract for the other half. My kids loved it so much they ate it before I even had time to frost. I tried to make the second batch as cupcakes...that didn't work so well. Taste was off and they were a little flat. Otherwise so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel Adams
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I used this recipe to make cupcakes! The best cupcakes I've ever made. I didn't have any vanilla though but it didn't bother the taste. So dense and moist! My new favorite. No more boxed cake in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This cake was absolutely delicious and quick to make! I added chocolate chips to mine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolonda Upshaw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
The cake itself was amazing!!!!! You need to keep the cake in the pan for the entire 10 minutes or else it is still hot and mine crumbled. When making the batter, after including the hot water, it looks like a pudding almost and is VERY moist. I used the chocolate cake with buttercream frosting and it was fantastic. I would highly suggest this to a friend!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Howard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,698) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States