One Bowl Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
EXCELLENT cake, I used cake flour, and added an extra egg, 1/4 c oil, and 1/2 c sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 82carly

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
As per the other reviewers, I used 2 tsp vanilla essence, only 1/2 tsp salt, 1 full cup of cocoa powder, and baked it in a large bundt tin, which had been well greased and dusted with flour then cocoa. The very watery mixture (you have been warned!) was then baked for 37minutes, and cooled in the tin for an hour before turning out. How can a cake be so moist, light-crumbed yet rich? Everybody went back for seconds. Great with a glass of cold milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Oh my! I've found my from scratch chocolate cake recipie. So delicious I loved it. Super moist and not overly sweet. The only problem is I used two bowls!LOL I will make again and again. I made homemade butter cream icing from the site. Simple to make and soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This cake is really easy to make and it tastes good. It was moist, but like others said the edges were a bit dry. The flavor was rich and chocolatey, but I would suggest reducing the salt to 1/2 tsp and increasing vanilla extract to 2 tsp. Will make it again, but try using 2 small bundt cake pans instead. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This cake was very good. There were some comments about it being dry. If you use oil instead of butter or margarine, it works out perfectly. That's my rule for cakes and quick breads. Oil makes more moisture that won't be affected by the heat of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookyldy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Benton Harbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This was fairly easy to make but I didn't love the recipe, its simply okay...even though I didn't even leave the cake in for close to the recommended time it got overly crispy on the top and sides. Maybe I had the oven to hot...but...meh. This one was not a huge hit for me. EDITTTTTTTTTT, I liked this wayyyyy better once it was chilled, I like my cakes chilled in the fridge because it often improves the tastes / flavors and in this case it really did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azure

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I made this cake and added a buttercream frosting and WOW! I also added 1 c. up brown sugar which made it absolutely yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni Foxx

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blacksburg, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Chesnee, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I followed the recipe but only reduced the sugar content. It tasted exactly how i wanted - not too sweet. I baked exactly for 35 mins and the surface is a bit crunchy but soft and moist inside. perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
VERY SIMPLE EASY TO MAKE CAKE. OVERALL FLAVOR WAS GOOD FOR A VERY SIMPLE CAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I made this for my daughter's birthday and then used a buttercream frosting on the top. It was delicious. It turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States