One Bowl Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
It was a perfectly good chocolate cake. It moist and came out with no surprises. This is now my go-to chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Excellent cake! I made it for a birthday at work Thursday, now I have to make another for Monday! Frosted it with chocolate buttercream enhanced with Nutella. It flew out of the pan! Thanks for sharing a great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Griscom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Great cake... But I woul advise doubling the proportions to get a thicker cake.. I always love to cut it in the middle to be able to put creme...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Very simple and delicious cake...I did add about 3 ounces of melted dark chocolate to the butter/sugar mixture and about two teaspoons of fresh orange zest -WOW! I also added chocolate pudding with orange zest mixed in and layered it between two sections of the cake. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandipants

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
EXCELLENT cake, I used cake flour, and added an extra egg, 1/4 c oil, and 1/2 c sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 82carly

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
As per the other reviewers, I used 2 tsp vanilla essence, only 1/2 tsp salt, 1 full cup of cocoa powder, and baked it in a large bundt tin, which had been well greased and dusted with flour then cocoa. The very watery mixture (you have been warned!) was then baked for 37minutes, and cooled in the tin for an hour before turning out. How can a cake be so moist, light-crumbed yet rich? Everybody went back for seconds. Great with a glass of cold milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Oh my! I've found my from scratch chocolate cake recipie. So delicious I loved it. Super moist and not overly sweet. The only problem is I used two bowls!LOL I will make again and again. I made homemade butter cream icing from the site. Simple to make and soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This cake is really easy to make and it tastes good. It was moist, but like others said the edges were a bit dry. The flavor was rich and chocolatey, but I would suggest reducing the salt to 1/2 tsp and increasing vanilla extract to 2 tsp. Will make it again, but try using 2 small bundt cake pans instead. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This cake was very good. There were some comments about it being dry. If you use oil instead of butter or margarine, it works out perfectly. That's my rule for cakes and quick breads. Oil makes more moisture that won't be affected by the heat of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookyldy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Benton Harbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This was fairly easy to make but I didn't love the recipe, its simply okay...even though I didn't even leave the cake in for close to the recommended time it got overly crispy on the top and sides. Maybe I had the oven to hot...but...meh. This one was not a huge hit for me. EDITTTTTTTTTT, I liked this wayyyyy better once it was chilled, I like my cakes chilled in the fridge because it often improves the tastes / flavors and in this case it really did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azure

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States