One Bowl Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This is a really good recipe..everyone in my house loved it! I didn't use cocoa powder because I didn't have any available, so I used about a bar and a half of melted milk chocolate instead and it still came out great! Just a tip..if you don't have the cocoa it's fine if you use chocolate. I wanted to use dark chocolate for the recipe but all I had was milk chocolate and even w/out lowering the amount of sugar stated in the recipe, it didn't turn out sweet..again, it's a really good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Yummy! I loved it and so did my family. It was so easy to make that my 2 year old was able to help me with most of it. Like some others, I did change the recipe slightly. I increased the amount of cocoa used to 1 cup (you can never have too much chocolate) and I decreased the amount of sugar to 1 cup (I may even use slightly less next time as it was still really, really rich). Also, I used hemp milk instead of cow's milk. It came out moist and chocolatey...everything you want in a chocolate cake. I topped it with a super easy peanut butter frosting and sprinkled it with some mini chocolate chips. It was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin'Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Nothing unusual, different or weird about this recipe, which is just what I wanted. This is a plain and simple, good old fashioned butter-based chocolate cake, an ideal basic and versatile recipe to do with whatever your heart desires. In my case I made Rocky Road Cupcakes with it today. I made a half recipe which yielded 10 cupcakes, filled only about half full as I topped them with chopped walnuts, miniature marshmallows and chocolate chips before baking. Put them out for the landscape crew working in my yard and within a couple of minutes all I had left of them was the photo I posted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Moist and sooo delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaDeeVah

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This cake smells absolutely dreamy while it's cooking!... and the taste is great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This was a nice and moist chocolate cake with a mild flavor. I got nervous when I read the reviews, so I added a splash of vegetable oil (maybe 1/4 cup) to the batter because who wants to serve a dry cake?! I frosted it with mocha buttercream icing. The cake was a hit! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
best homemade cake i have ever eaten
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Sanche-Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Ok. So the cake turned out delicious, and it was very easy to make...but unless my oven is failing (it can't be, I baked chicked right after) this cake took almost an hour to fully bake. The middle remained soft, and I had to check it every 10 minutes or so. The cake is a tasty one, but not as quick as it should have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This is a great, easy cake. I made it all the time in college, because it requires minimal ingredients and utensils. It's not gourmet, but it's really tasty, and it baked evenly even in my warped pan. I made it with salted butter once, and thought that added a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
tried this recipe twice. once as cupcakes. both turn out the same but the bottom of the cake like not bake properly, very gooey.taste delicious and very chocolately without being overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States