One Bowl Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by NC baking girl
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Note: if your deciding between this recipe and one bowl chocolate cake III, they are exactly the same. I gave it 4 stars because I wasn't very impressed when I made it, but as someone else mentioned it is better the next day and best on the 3rd day. Day 3 it is 5 stars for sure. Great cake to make ahead of time for parties when you have lots of other stuff to make, since it is best on it's 3rd day. Thanks for this great recipe. Also, just to warn you, it looks ready before the boiling water and you therefore might forget it, just a note to keep in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NC baking girl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
This is actually Hershey's "Perfectly Chocolate" chocolate cake and I only realized it after making it the second time using this recipe. I think the trick to the cake is watching your oven temperature and checking on the cake regularly. The first time my cake came out dry but the second time round, I lowered the temperature and kept checking every 15 mins or so. It turned out chocolatey and moist. Somehow I feel it wouldn't be so chocolatey if I hadn't included a bag of chocolate chips along with more coco powder and a frosting. Still a good recipe and keeper! Made it for a camp and it was gone in seconds! :) PS: I would highly recommand lining your tin with baking paper cause the cake tends to stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERENISM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
Good basic chocolate cake mix. I followed the mix directions exactly, but I made cupcakes instead. 24 cupcakes took 16 minutes at 350 in my oven (which tends to cook a little slow). I ran out of cupcake liners, so some of them baked directly in the pan with cooking spray. I had no problems whatsoever with sticking to the pan. I did not think that they looked done, but the toothpick was clean so I took them out anyway, and they are perfect. This is not extremely chocolate-y or rich, so you will have to make some additions to get that. BUT it IS a good basic chocolate cake mix--fairly light texture, medium moisture level. And yes, it is the recipe right off the Hershey cocoa box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Reliable deep, dark chocolate cake. Moist and dense - but to my liking almost too dense. Unlike some other chocolate cake recipes, this is not temperamental, so you can bake this cake confidently and expect it will turn out well, which is always a plus. I did bake it in the two layers and frosted it with the vanilla version of "Vanilla-Chocolate Powdered Sugar Frosting," also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This is a fantastic cake. I found it, too, on the back of the Hershey's cocoa box, but (this is cool) if you 1/2 the recipe, use buttermilk instead of milk, put it in a 8x8 or larger corningware dish that's been sprayed with non-stick spray and microwave it uncovered for 6 minutes on high or until it loses its shine on top and then cool it in the freezer (if you have room) and you can have a really good chocolate cake (moistest I've ever had) in less than 30 minutes (if you cool it in the freezer). Excellent with just about any icing and very good plain, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I used buttermilk instead of regular milk and melted butter in place of the vegetable oil. Other than that, I followed the recipe exact. I used a large 9x13 pan and when I checked my cake at exactly a half hour baking time, it was jiggly in the middle. SO, I turned the cake (which friends told me to do in a gas oven so it cooks evenly, covered the top with foil so it would not burn and set the timer for another 30 minutes. It was perfectly done in an hour, awesomely moist and killer looking. I plan on frosting it with my own Chocolate Buttermilk Icing. GREAT Sunday cake to make with the kids as a special treat nevermind it uses basic pantry items and was simple to follow, which I appreciated. Smells AH-MAZING while baking. The kids were dancing around singing about the wonders of chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
i forgot the boiling water!!!!! after putting the batter into the oven i realized i left out the boiling water!!! shocker though...it was really delicious even without but a bit dry. i won't hold that against this recipe though. the water probably would have made it moister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2000
A wonderful moist chocolate cake. I made one for family last night and there were no leftovers. They requested another one tonight! I used a 13x9x2 glass baking dish and baked it for about 50 minutes, until a toothpick came out clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This is my new chocolate cake recipe! It was fabulous - better than the bakery I usually use for birthday cakes. I couldn't get to the bakery, so I used this recipe and a yellow cake recipe and put them together. I frosted them with Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting from this site. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Very good cake. I substituted the water for coffee, it brings out the chocolate flavor more. I made these into cupcakes for my son's Valentine's Day party. Baked at 350 for 16 minutes and they came out perfect. I got 26 cupcakes out of the recipe. Family snatched a couple before I could frost them so I'm not sure exactly how many I got! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States