One Bowl Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This is the chocolate cake I've made for at least 20 years and it was at one time called "Hersheys Deep Dark Chocolate Cake". As others have said it's on the back of the Hersheys cocoa can, and is now called, "Perfectly Chocolate, Chocolate Cake". Whatever you call it, its easy, always moist if you don't overbake. I bake mine in a 9x13 pan for 35 minutes @ 350 degrees. I frost it with 'French Silk Frosting' also on this website. Ours usually doesn't last for three days so I can't say if it tastes better then or not. My family who are not that fond of cake, gobble this one right up. I made one last night for my two sons and my birthdays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I halved this recipe since I didn't have enough of the ingredients to make the full batch and made cupcakes. I also used dark cocoa. The batter was thin, and the cupcake tops were very shiny(?) but the cake itself was great. Does the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mount Dora, Florida, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Was great, a little on the dry side may be from I added a tad bit extra on the cocoa powder but I added a little extra oil as well. I thought it was great, my mom said it was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmama09
Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I made this exactly as directed and it turned out perfect. I made it in a bundt pan and it took 50 minutes to bake. It is the perfect chocolate cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Really, I don't have much else to say as it is simply the best! Everyone loved it - thank you for a super recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This is the best chocolate cake I have ever eaten. Used the frosting recipe on the back on the Nestle Cocoa can. WOW!!! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This recipe was very good. It was a rainy Sunday and my husband wanted chocolate cake, and I was out of butter, which my usual recipe calls for. It was extremely easy to make, and it turned out very moist. I did add about a 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, which enhanced the chocolate flavor. A great recipe in a pinch since the ingredients are almost always on hand. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjlund

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Quick, easy and tasty! Very very moist cake! Nearly as easy as making a box cake but way more delicious. Definitely a keeper =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This is my new chocolate cake recipe! It was fabulous - better than the bakery I usually use for birthday cakes. I couldn't get to the bakery, so I used this recipe and a yellow cake recipe and put them together. I frosted them with Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting from this site. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This cake turned out perfect. I, with the help of All Recipes conversion, halfed the recipe and used a 9x9 cake pan. As I live at altitude I made the corrections, less sugar, less baking powder & soda and more liquid. I also subtituded boiling coffee for the water. I had some concern as the batter was very thin but it it baked perfectally. I frosted the cake with a chocolate butter frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States