One Bowl Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
My husband made this for me for my birthday last night. Not only did it turn out very well but everything we needed to throw it together was already in the kitchen. And it IS really good. About the perfect amount of richness for us. When he put the boiling liquid in (we subbed coffee) my husband said he thought he screwed up because of how runny it then was. But it was perfect. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Yes this is actually Hershey's "Perfectly Chocolate" I have seen this recipe on here under a few name's none the less this cake is wonderful just as written, however it is even better when you use 1 cup of fresh hot coffee in place of water. The batter will be very thin but that's how it is supposed to be. It comes out very moist. My kids always want this cake on their B-day even over a bakery cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laquey, Missouri, USA
Living In: Stoutland, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Great cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This began bad I had this liquidy batter when I put the water in the batter . I was practically too scared to put it in the oven hoping it wont leak! I added another cup of flour and replaced the oil with apple sauce and grated dark chocolat instead of cocoa powder ,it was awsome! but the normal receipe was awful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lux
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I made this for my son's birthday for the 2nd year in a row yesterday. I also made cupcakes for his birthday with it as well. I have been making this cake for years and I realized why - it's the same one I got of the Hershey's cocoa powder box years ago! This is a GREAT no-fail recipe. The only modification I make to this recipe is substituting strong coffee for the water. It always comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Seal Rock, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I have made this recipe about 30 times over the last 5 years, it has become my base for all my chocolate cake recipes. These days, I sub half a cup of greek yogurt for half the milk. The recipe as written is simply divine, so there's no need to tweak it unless you are feeling daring. Being gluten free (found out I had a severe allergy 18 months ago), I love that I can bake this cake "blind" and know that it will always be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I made this with my 9yr old daughter for my mother's birthday cake! It came out AWESOME! I was concerned about the soupy consistancy, but was totally surprised by the end result! Everyone loved it! Will be making this again in the future! Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taunya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I made this recipe into cupcakes. They were the softest and most moist cupcakes I have ever made. I must admit at first I was really worried that either I had done something wrong or the recipe was printed wrong because the batter was very runny but they turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabyMakingMachine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Twin Valley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I have been baking many, many cakes lately (wedding cake practice) and I had a few people say that this one was the best they'd ever tasted. And it was definitely the easiest recipe I've found. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Reliable deep, dark chocolate cake. Moist and dense - but to my liking almost too dense. Unlike some other chocolate cake recipes, this is not temperamental, so you can bake this cake confidently and expect it will turn out well, which is always a plus. I did bake it in the two layers and frosted it with the vanilla version of "Vanilla-Chocolate Powdered Sugar Frosting," also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States