One Bowl Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly. This cake smelled awesome while it was cooking. It turned out perfectly and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Gonna use this all the time...Came out moist and soft and fluffy. made a 13x9 cake though not a layer. Took about 45 minutes to bake at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This cake is VERY good! It's moist and soft, and works with a lot of frostings. I will definitely be making this again. (I have made it twice already)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mykaela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fossil, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
easy and super moist. I didnt have cocoa powder so I made this with 4 squares of unsweetened chocolate, and reduced the oil to 1/4 cup - came out great and was a hit with the family. I did 2 layers, filled with chocolate mousse
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AUGRATIN
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I've made this a couple times and have received huge reviews each time. I did not alter the recipe in any way and made a two layer cake one time and cupcakes the other. Both were perfect. I used 7 minute frosting because I like the taste and color contrast but would be amazing with a coordinating chocolate buttercream or something. Even my sister, who usually skips dessert, went gaga over this. Thank you for sharing, Shirley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Excellent recipe. I doubled it and put in a 14x20 pan and turned out perfect. Love this recipe. I was scarred at first by how runny it was but not anymore. make good cupcakes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Corbett
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Delicious. I used Hershey's Special Dark cocoa powder, and made a sinful dark chocolate cake. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Corbett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Been using this recipe (from the Hershey's cocoa can) for at least 5 years. I make this cake for our office birthdays about 10 times a year. I frost it with peanut butter frosting (my own recipe) and its a great hit!!! We are at high altitude and I find it to be very temperamental to changes in pressure due to weather. To compensate, I add 2 more Tbls of flour. Also, I can't make cupcakes because they just bubble over in the oven. Even still...this is the ONLY chocolate cake recipe I use because it is phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I used buttermilk instead of regular milk and melted butter in place of the vegetable oil. Other than that, I followed the recipe exact. I used a large 9x13 pan and when I checked my cake at exactly a half hour baking time, it was jiggly in the middle. SO, I turned the cake (which friends told me to do in a gas oven so it cooks evenly, covered the top with foil so it would not burn and set the timer for another 30 minutes. It was perfectly done in an hour, awesomely moist and killer looking. I plan on frosting it with my own Chocolate Buttermilk Icing. GREAT Sunday cake to make with the kids as a special treat nevermind it uses basic pantry items and was simple to follow, which I appreciated. Smells AH-MAZING while baking. The kids were dancing around singing about the wonders of chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
pretty good, Roger really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States