One Bowl Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by AUGRATIN
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I've made this a couple times and have received huge reviews each time. I did not alter the recipe in any way and made a two layer cake one time and cupcakes the other. Both were perfect. I used 7 minute frosting because I like the taste and color contrast but would be amazing with a coordinating chocolate buttercream or something. Even my sister, who usually skips dessert, went gaga over this. Thank you for sharing, Shirley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Excellent recipe. I doubled it and put in a 14x20 pan and turned out perfect. Love this recipe. I was scarred at first by how runny it was but not anymore. make good cupcakes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VTMelly
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Delicious. I used Hershey's Special Dark cocoa powder, and made a sinful dark chocolate cake. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VTMelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Been using this recipe (from the Hershey's cocoa can) for at least 5 years. I make this cake for our office birthdays about 10 times a year. I frost it with peanut butter frosting (my own recipe) and its a great hit!!! We are at high altitude and I find it to be very temperamental to changes in pressure due to weather. To compensate, I add 2 more Tbls of flour. Also, I can't make cupcakes because they just bubble over in the oven. Even still...this is the ONLY chocolate cake recipe I use because it is phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I used buttermilk instead of regular milk and melted butter in place of the vegetable oil. Other than that, I followed the recipe exact. I used a large 9x13 pan and when I checked my cake at exactly a half hour baking time, it was jiggly in the middle. SO, I turned the cake (which friends told me to do in a gas oven so it cooks evenly, covered the top with foil so it would not burn and set the timer for another 30 minutes. It was perfectly done in an hour, awesomely moist and killer looking. I plan on frosting it with my own Chocolate Buttermilk Icing. GREAT Sunday cake to make with the kids as a special treat nevermind it uses basic pantry items and was simple to follow, which I appreciated. Smells AH-MAZING while baking. The kids were dancing around singing about the wonders of chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
pretty good, Roger really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This recipe is so yummy! It is a very moist cake and super easy to make. I have shared this with others and everyone is now using it as their go to chocolate cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
We love this cake and so do the students at the school where I work. We multiplied this recipe to make enough for for school lunch. It was so easy, we make it the day before and frost it the next day. The kids love it, we no longer serve brownies when they are on the menu, only this cake. We don't change a thing. You can't go wrong with this cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I liked how easy this was to make but it came out a little heavier then I expected it to. I'm going to try again though. My kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
this is terrific!! i made it for my family, and they all loved it. even my mother, who doesnt like chocolate cake, thought this cake was delicious. best of all, it was pretty fast and very easy. only thing - i would say to put it in 3 9inch pans - it fit in only two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolito14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States