One Bowl Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I have made this recipes for years. I always use whole milk. After I grease the pan I sprinkle it with sugar not flour. That keeps the cake from sticking, makes it moister and tastes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This is wonderful. I cook it in a 9x13 pan for 25 min. as my oven is hot. I just dump all the ingredients in a bowl and mix. You don't have to go through the "add this and mix thoroughly" routine. The batter is thin....really thin....like I double-checked I put in the right amount of liquids thin! You can frost it or just sift confectioners sugar on top. Either way it won't last!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This has been my go to chocolate cake recipe for many years. I only use Hershey's cocoa sometimes and have found that most natural (as in non-dutch processed) cocoa works fine and some even make it taste better... so I guess if I don't use Hershey's every time I make this, I guess it's OK to plagiarize their famous recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Peterlee, Durham, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Replace the water with brewed coffee. Brings out the chocolate flavor better. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FCM1611

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I replaced the oil with cubes of unsweetened bakers chocolate, used only 1.5 cups of sugar and replaced some of the flour with more powdered chocolate. I iced with cream cheese frosting. The cake was very dry the night I made it, but is delicious this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Perfect chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I made this up yesterday to serve at a birthday party today and it was absolutely wonderful. Yes, the batter will get very runny once you add the boiling water to it but that is how it is supposed to be. It turned out very nice and everyone raved about it. It's my new favorite chocolate cake recipe and was delicious with butter cream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This cake was awesome! Like the other reviews said I was worried about how thin the batter was as it was the perfect texture before adding the water. I did it anyway (wondering if I shouldn't have)and it turned out with a perfect moist texture! I baked it in a 9x13 pan and had to add another 10 min. or so to the baking time as a result. The reviews said it was better the 2nd and 3rd day but it was great the 1st day too! I didn't frost or glaze it, I served it with homemade vanilla ice cream and our company LOVED it and immediately asked for the recipe. Thank you I will definately make it my "go to" chocolate cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indian Valley, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I was concerned by how watery the batter was but the end result was a very moist, rich chocolate cake that everyone in my family loves. My husband doesn't even want frosting on it... it is a winner in this household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly. This cake smelled awesome while it was cooking. It turned out perfectly and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States