One Bowl Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Good flavor and real easy. I actually omitted the cocoa because I wanted a vanilla frosting and added a little extra vanilla extract. Tip: don't overmix as it will begin to separate. It was an very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN ALL MY LIFE?? A super frosting, all around terrific recipe! I have tried many recipes from this site but was never inspired enough (postive or negative) to post a comment. However, this recipe rocks. I did have to tweak it based on what I had on hand -- I used stick margerine, and substituted nonfat dry milk for the cocoa, because I wanted a vanilla frosting (I substitute NFDM for 1/3 of the sugar in most of my baking recipes). I think because I used margarine, which is more watery than butter, I only had to use about half the milk. Anyway, the taste is absolutely yummy. It's a great consistancy and eminently spreadable, even on a crumbly baked-with-applesauce-instead-of-oil cake. Easy to make and apply, delicious, what more could you ask for? This recipe isn't just a keeper, it's going to be laminated for a place in my recipe hall of fame! Love it!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I made this with butter and 1/2 & 1/2. I wanted a vanilla frosing so I left out the cocoa powder. It had a nice creamy texture and spread beautifully. But the best part was how it tasted . . . I will make it often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glacierlily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Froid, Montana, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
BEAUTIFUL frosting. Rich and creamy, chocolatey, with a silky smooth texture and great mouthfeel. Makes you want to eat it with a spoon. I upped the cocoa powder just a little as I wanted a darker frosting, but this is sooo easily adjusted to however you like it, lighter or darker. I beat it a good several minutes, so by the time it was done it was just beautifully fluffy. I didn't measure the milk, just added it until I was happy with the consistency I wanted for piping. I used this frosting to top "Brownie Batter + Cupcake = The SECOND BEST Cupcake. Ever," also from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
Smooth, creamy, and a cinch to make. This recipe is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Both my mother and I have been using this recipe for years...it is delicious! However, I think that I will continue to look for a vanilla frosting recipe. This will work as a vanilla frosting, but in my experience,I find that without the cocoa, it is VERY sweet and seperates very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I've finally found it- this is THE chocolate frosting that I will use forever. Chocolatey, creamy, just perfect. I will also point out that this is actually Hershey's One Bowl Buttercream Frosting- exact same recipe, word-for-word. Try it, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
The buttercream frosting I usually use can turn out a little sloppy so I decide to give this one a go. Brilliant didn't need any more milk was just right as it was. Put it on top of Grand pop's Special Chocolate Cake. Will use again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
This is the first frosting I've ever made and it was fantastic! I didn't alter a thing and everyone loved it! I will try the suggestion of using non-fat dry milk in place of cocoa when I need a vanilla frosting. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
extremely fast and easy. sometimes i add about a tablespoon of creamy peanut butter, which makes it taste like peanut butter fudge. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States