One Bowl Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Good flavor and real easy. I actually omitted the cocoa because I wanted a vanilla frosting and added a little extra vanilla extract. Tip: don't overmix as it will begin to separate. It was an very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN ALL MY LIFE?? A super frosting, all around terrific recipe! I have tried many recipes from this site but was never inspired enough (postive or negative) to post a comment. However, this recipe rocks. I did have to tweak it based on what I had on hand -- I used stick margerine, and substituted nonfat dry milk for the cocoa, because I wanted a vanilla frosting (I substitute NFDM for 1/3 of the sugar in most of my baking recipes). I think because I used margarine, which is more watery than butter, I only had to use about half the milk. Anyway, the taste is absolutely yummy. It's a great consistancy and eminently spreadable, even on a crumbly baked-with-applesauce-instead-of-oil cake. Easy to make and apply, delicious, what more could you ask for? This recipe isn't just a keeper, it's going to be laminated for a place in my recipe hall of fame! Love it!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I made this with butter and 1/2 & 1/2. I wanted a vanilla frosing so I left out the cocoa powder. It had a nice creamy texture and spread beautifully. But the best part was how it tasted . . . I will make it often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glacierlily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Froid, Montana, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
Smooth, creamy, and a cinch to make. This recipe is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
BEAUTIFUL frosting. Rich and creamy, chocolatey, with a silky smooth texture and great mouthfeel. Makes you want to eat it with a spoon. I upped the cocoa powder just a little as I wanted a darker frosting, but this is sooo easily adjusted to however you like it, lighter or darker. I beat it a good several minutes, so by the time it was done it was just beautifully fluffy. I didn't measure the milk, just added it until I was happy with the consistency I wanted for piping. I used this frosting to top "Brownie Batter + Cupcake = The SECOND BEST Cupcake. Ever," also from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Courtney
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Both my mother and I have been using this recipe for years...it is delicious! However, I think that I will continue to look for a vanilla frosting recipe. This will work as a vanilla frosting, but in my experience,I find that without the cocoa, it is VERY sweet and seperates very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I've finally found it- this is THE chocolate frosting that I will use forever. Chocolatey, creamy, just perfect. I will also point out that this is actually Hershey's One Bowl Buttercream Frosting- exact same recipe, word-for-word. Try it, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
The buttercream frosting I usually use can turn out a little sloppy so I decide to give this one a go. Brilliant didn't need any more milk was just right as it was. Put it on top of Grand pop's Special Chocolate Cake. Will use again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
This is the first frosting I've ever made and it was fantastic! I didn't alter a thing and everyone loved it! I will try the suggestion of using non-fat dry milk in place of cocoa when I need a vanilla frosting. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
extremely fast and easy. sometimes i add about a tablespoon of creamy peanut butter, which makes it taste like peanut butter fudge. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States