One Bowl Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Left a lot to be desired. I ended up adding a lot of extra things in after tasting the finished product as written and being very unimpressed. As a donut frosting it would work well, it is a good consistency and flavor for that, but as a cookie frosting it falls short.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Great frosting. Reminded me of the frosting my favorite bakery uses on their chocolate covered cake donuts. My husband wasn't thrilled with the cake I made but told me the frosting was yummy so I'll definitely be using this recipe again in the future. And to think...I hadn't made home made frosting since home economics in Junior High School which was a LONG LONG LONG time ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MomTo6
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I love this recipe for frosting the Chocolate Eclair from this site. I originally found this exact frosting recipe on the back of a Ghiradelli Cocoa can. I think using a good cocoa makes a big difference. This recipe is easy and delicious and one of my favorites that I have used countless times. I always beat the butter first and sift in the cocoa and sugar before adding the remaining ingredients. I beat it for a good amount of time at the end, too. Mmmm...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTo6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Meh, I honestly don't think this is a good buttercreme recipe. I had to tweak quite a bit to get something I could use and I am a very seasoned frosting maker. I won't be using this one again =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I accidentally threw everything in together and then mixed, and it still came out perfect. I didn't think it looked like enough to frost a 2 layer cake, but there was still enough left to lick the bowl. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Good, easy recipe. Make sure you mix according to directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This is a very good butter-cream frosting recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Delicioius, smooth and easy to make. Used to frost one bowl chocolate cake and it was excellent. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
You know how you remember something from your childhood & then you experience it again as an adult & it never matches what you remember? This frosting brought back my childhood; tasted like I remember, maybe better! It was the best tasting frosting that I have tasted since. Texture was creamy & held up on a still-warm cake. Can't wait to bake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This recipe was ok. Made it with out the cocoa and it tasted good. However, it is very, very soft even with more powdered sugar. Applied to cupcakes with decorating tip, seemed good but then just seemed to melt. Would be better on a cake maybe, not cupcakes. Search for the perfect recipe continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States