One Bowl Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This is the first buttercream frosting I have ever made and it was super simple. The cupcakes turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael357

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Wow. This is the perfect frosting! If it weren't so bad for me, I'd just get a spoon and eat the leftovers. Yummy, and easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This recipe itself tastes good but isn't really a "buttercream" as many know it. I would use this for an old fashioned looking cake but not for decorating, personally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Very good and very easy :) I doubled the recipe, adding just a tad more cocoa powder. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
BEAUTIFUL frosting. Rich and creamy, chocolatey, with a silky smooth texture and great mouthfeel. Makes you want to eat it with a spoon. I upped the cocoa powder just a little as I wanted a darker frosting, but this is sooo easily adjusted to however you like it, lighter or darker. I beat it a good several minutes, so by the time it was done it was just beautifully fluffy. I didn't measure the milk, just added it until I was happy with the consistency I wanted for piping. I used this frosting to top "Brownie Batter + Cupcake = The SECOND BEST Cupcake. Ever," also from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This was a great tasting chocolate buttercream frosting. It made plenty for covering 24 cupcakes too. This was creamy, fluffy, and smooth. Nice flavor not too fudgy and it didn't taste like powdered sugar. Thanks. I'll use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This frosting was absolutely devine! I made vanilla frosting, and all I did was take out the cocoa. Here's a tip: If you make vanilla frosting, add more vanilla extract. Thank you so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
MMMMM SOOOO GOOD! I made this for a welcome home cake... and it was just AMAZING... THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU... and it was sooooo easy too! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Really good and easy frosting.I used it for cupcakes and it can frost around 24 cupcakes. Can replace the vanilla extract by other favors like lemon to match the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wai
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This is the exact same recipe that appears on the box of Hershey Cocoa. I've used this recipe for years. The trick is to make sure you beat the butter real good before you begin adding the confectioner's sugar and cocoa. Using a hand mixer, beat in as much as you can, then begin to add milk, a little a time. Also, as the package indicates, adjust the amount of cocoa to your taste; 1/4 cup for light flavor, 1/2 cup for medium flavor and 3/4 cup for dark flavor (which is what I use). Do you like "darK" chocolate over "milk" chocolate. Then use 1/2 cup of Hersheys "Special Dark" cocoa powder. The frosting is almost black in color - a whole different taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States