One Bowl Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Unfortunately this one just didn't work for me. It was far too runny, and was not a frosting :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This is very yummy and sweet! I wish I read all of the comments because I missed the one that said it was runny with out the cocoa. This is also a very sweet frosting. Next time I will add some whipped cream to it and see how that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I used 3 cups conf sugar, 1/3 cup milk, 1 T vanilla, after that it was still to runny for my liking so I added in some more conf sugar, still too runny, added some more vanilla, then A LOT more conf sugar to get it to a stiff consistency that I prefer.....the recipe is OK I guess if you want runny frosting, otherwise you kind of have to makeup your own as you go with this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I halved the recipe and forgot to put in the vanilla and it turned out great!! i added some extra cocoa power and sugar, finding my perfect consistency. It hardened perfectly and tasted TEN TIMES BETTER than store bought! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I used a little too much milk, but otherwise the texture was perfect. It just hasn't set is all. I left the cocoa out, but next time I may use it, or try it with cocoa and orange juice and orange extract. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hawkified

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Centralia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I used this recipe and substituted Hazelnut coffee creamer in place of the milk and omitted the cocoa. It turned out super yummy! It's a little sweet but not bad at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweatpalm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Both my mother and I have been using this recipe for years...it is delicious! However, I think that I will continue to look for a vanilla frosting recipe. This will work as a vanilla frosting, but in my experience,I find that without the cocoa, it is VERY sweet and seperates very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I made this to frost a cake, and i was not pleased with the results. it spread relatively easily, but it tasted like eating pure sugar. Everyone ended up scooping it off and just eating the cake. If you are set on this recipe, then try using a little... or a lot less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This is by far the best chocolate frosting I've ever made! It was so light and fluffy! I used high-quality cocoa powder and less sugar; I prefer a more chocolatey taste. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I've finally found it- this is THE chocolate frosting that I will use forever. Chocolatey, creamy, just perfect. I will also point out that this is actually Hershey's One Bowl Buttercream Frosting- exact same recipe, word-for-word. Try it, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States