One Bowl Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Tastes great except I will use an 8x8 glass pan next, did not spread at all great taste but too thin. Will use this recipe again but smaller pan. keenpetite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I have made this recipe for over 20 years, with 100% success. For those users that had the brownies not cook properly, get your oven checked! You can substitute half coconut oil for the butter and they are healthier with a coconutty taste, or add chocolate chips, or add broken peppermint candies (sprinkled on top is very pretty). Never buy box mix brownies! These are outstanding and you already have all the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sobotta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This is a great recipe - I used to make these years ago from an old Pillsbury cookbook and I'm so glad I found it again. I like to make them thicker, so I bake them in a 9 in square pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kopcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This is a fantastic brownie recipe. I didn't have butter on hand, so instead I used about 2/3 cup of Safflower oil, much healthier. I also used a mix of light and dark brown sugar instead of white sugar. They came out chewy, moist and delicious! Caution, do not over cook. I only cooked mine for about 23 minutes. Also, I used a much smaller glass pan, about 9x9. Because of using the oil, the brownies did not stick to the glass at all like people are saying in other reviews. Another yummy option is to add some bittersweet chocolate chips to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeani
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I teach cooking classes to young children and teens. I have used this recipe for a few years. It's failsafe, simple and delicious. In honor of St. Patrick's Day, in class we swirled green cream cheese batter in the brownies to make them a marble green. We just omitted the box brownies and made our own from scratch using the above recipe. They were delish. However, the calorie content is greater with the addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeani

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Just tried this recipe except I cut it in half, reduced the sugar and used whole wheat flour. I used 2 oz (half a bar) of unsweetened chocolate, 6 TBL butter, 3/4 cup sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 egg, and 1/2 cup of King Arthur white whole wheat flour (omitted walnuts b/c I didn't have any). Baked it in an 8" square pan for about 18 min. They were only about a 1/2" thick but I thought they turned out well. Not spectacular but definitely satisfied my chocolate craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Rich, gooey, chocolaty brownies. Easy to make, short list of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
This is my go-to brownie recipe. I generally forgo the nuts (personal preference), but otherwise I follow the recipe exactly. These are perfectly chewy, in my opinion - not cakey, and not fudgy, with the perfect amount of chocolate. Love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
So easy to make and so good. Perfect for when you need a quick chocolate fix. Made this for a family dinner tonight, and they were well liked by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Inedible. Burned on top yet was completely gooey underneath. Disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adria

Displaying results 1-10 (of 742) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States