One Bowl Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
This is the original Baker's One Bowl Brownies recipe that we have used for 25 years. It is still the best fudgy brownie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
It was a good recipe except that I was distracted and didn't calculate the chocolate squares properly (used 4 1/4 ounce pieces instead of the whole box of chocolate squares for 4 ounces) ;) Husband was highly disappointed since it's very cold out here today and he really wanted true brownies. They came out well otherwise - I liked the shape, consistency, texture and flatness, and they didn't stick to the pan, but were more like walnut blondies! Next time I'll make sure to put in 4 ounces of chocolate instead of 1. Also since the squares were semi-sweet I halved the sugar amount. Nice quick recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
These brownies have basically no chocolate in them and came out pretty flat. There's no rise to them at all, and I definitely wouldn't use a 13"x9" pan again. The reviews on this site are always misleading, I saw that this recipe had 4.5 stars so I tried it, but everyone who rated it well changed half the recipe! I might make this again but I would definitely cut down on the sugar, up the chocolate, and maybe add some baking powder so they aren't so dense!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rissa D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Awesome my family and I LOVED these and my kids normally don't eat brownies but they loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Tastes great except I will use an 8x8 glass pan next, did not spread at all great taste but too thin. Will use this recipe again but smaller pan. keenpetite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I have made this recipe for over 20 years, with 100% success. For those users that had the brownies not cook properly, get your oven checked! You can substitute half coconut oil for the butter and they are healthier with a coconutty taste, or add chocolate chips, or add broken peppermint candies (sprinkled on top is very pretty). Never buy box mix brownies! These are outstanding and you already have all the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sobotta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This is a great recipe - I used to make these years ago from an old Pillsbury cookbook and I'm so glad I found it again. I like to make them thicker, so I bake them in a 9 in square pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kopcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This is a fantastic brownie recipe. I didn't have butter on hand, so instead I used about 2/3 cup of Safflower oil, much healthier. I also used a mix of light and dark brown sugar instead of white sugar. They came out chewy, moist and delicious! Caution, do not over cook. I only cooked mine for about 23 minutes. Also, I used a much smaller glass pan, about 9x9. Because of using the oil, the brownies did not stick to the glass at all like people are saying in other reviews. Another yummy option is to add some bittersweet chocolate chips to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeani
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I teach cooking classes to young children and teens. I have used this recipe for a few years. It's failsafe, simple and delicious. In honor of St. Patrick's Day, in class we swirled green cream cheese batter in the brownies to make them a marble green. We just omitted the box brownies and made our own from scratch using the above recipe. They were delish. However, the calorie content is greater with the addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeani

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Just tried this recipe except I cut it in half, reduced the sugar and used whole wheat flour. I used 2 oz (half a bar) of unsweetened chocolate, 6 TBL butter, 3/4 cup sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 egg, and 1/2 cup of King Arthur white whole wheat flour (omitted walnuts b/c I didn't have any). Baked it in an 8" square pan for about 18 min. They were only about a 1/2" thick but I thought they turned out well. Not spectacular but definitely satisfied my chocolate craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 746) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States