One - Two - Three - Four Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
The flavor and texture remind me of my grandmother's old world cakes. By far the best yellow cake recipe I've found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaclynn G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Perry Hall, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
So many complaints about this cake being dry....possibly because the layers are too thin. I always makes this particular recipe in a 9 x 13 pan - no problem. Also, it is better if the eggs are separated, i.e. beat in yoks and whip whites until soft peaks form and fold in at the very end. Good luck. P.S. Use this recipe not only for frosting cakes but also as a base for strawberies or fruit of your choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Very good!! Moist an delicious an the texture is perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I have been using this for years glad to see it shared here. I actually cream the butter and sugar for 5 min to get a really good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I didn't have any butter so I used shortning and added a little butter flavor to it. It was fantastic! This is one of the lightest cakes I have ever made and as a semi-professional baker that says a lot. This one is getting filed. For those who had a problem with dryness. Never sccop out the flour, spoon it into the measuring cup and level it. Too much flour = dry cake. Also beat the butter sugar till it's really well creamed together and add eggs one at a time beating to death after each one. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Flavor is very good-better than boxed cake mix on flavor. However, the cake was also very dry. I do think I overbaked it some, but, I don't think the was the entire reason for the dryness. The cake is quite dense as well. In my opinion, while the flavor is good, I willmore than likely use the box next time or maybe add pudding or egg yolk to the mixture? Not sure. I was just bummed b/c i tried to follow the advice of another reviewer and ensure that I creamed my butter and sugar well, yet, I had a really dry cake. Oh well. I did pair it with the sour cream chocolate cake frosting on this site - which is very chocolatey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Creaming the butter and sugar for long enough is the whole secret to this recipe. My daughter made it this week, and just left the mixer running while she did some other things. The cake came out SO moist and delicious, not a bit like cornbread. Very flavorful! I don't usually like cake without frosting, but this one was yummy enough it didn't need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This cake tasted a little to floury to me. I would have liked it to be a bit lighter as well. I used a 9x13 pan and that worked well. Baked for about 30 min and frosted with chocolate. Not bad for a sweet tooth craving, but I will still look for another basic cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I was looking for a cake recipe I founded this one and made it....it had an awsome taste but the bad thing is that you dont need frosting for it because it is really sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcela09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Pretty decent cake, but as white and yellow butter cakes are notoriously a little drier, I think for my own personal preference I would add a couple of extra yolks to the batter in the future. Experience has shown me this really helps. For those who remark this tastes like or has the texture of corn bread, perhaps you're not beating your butter and sugar long enough? You really have to beat it for a good 2-3 minutes to aerate it, which definitely makes all the difference in terms of texture. I made these into cupcakes, and added 1 tsp. of grated lemon zest to the batter. Frosted with Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting, also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States