One - Two - Three - Four Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I thought this would be a great recipe, but it proved to be the opposite. I made 2 9' cakes and 4 cupcakes from the batter. When in the oven, I had to bake the cakes for 15 minutes longer than the recipe said. However, I realize that is probably because I had too much batter in each cake pan. My real problems came when getting the cakes out of the pan. I had greased and floured the pans using techniques that are tried and true, but neither cakes would come out. I let the cakes cool completely, and when I tried to get the cakes out, they both crumbled. The cake was very dry and would not stay in its cake form. The taste was also very bland and not moist at all like a cake should be. I would not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Good base cake recipe. Really easy for when you want to do something simple, but definately easy to jazz up when you're looking for something with pizzaz!! Everyone who tried one loved it!! This recipe made about 30 cupcakes, I can't even tell you how many of those my husband ate alone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
With minor modifications this is a 5-star yellow cake recipe; as good as it gets! I like the moistness of shortening, but I also I like the flavor and richness of butter - so I used a 50/50 combination of both. I also added 1/2 tsp. of salt to enhance flavor. I baked this as cupcakes and found them light, moist and delicately sweet. As long as you cream your shortening or butter and sugar well, and then add the eggs one at a time to keep the batter aerated and emulsified, you won't have any "dry and dense" issues. I would not hesitate to make this again...repeatedly. With lots of fluffy buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Followed instructions exactly. It came out really dense. The cake developed a bit of a crust to it as well. It wasn't bad, but will require tweaking. I'll be trying it with butter next time instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This is an excellent base for a yellow cake. I use butter. No way does this cake turn out dry if you follow instructions. The butter and sugar require a lot of beating......it is not a cake to make in a hurry. Sure beats any cake mix out there either doctored or otherwise. I also like to separate the eggs, beat the whites until thick and hold soft peaks and fold in .....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I have been using this recipe for years with butter instead of shortening and have had very good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I modified this recipe slightly, and it recipe makes a really good, dense layer cake for a strong frosting. Make it with a fudgy icing and you will have a very rich cake. My modifications: (1)substitute butter for the shortening, (2) use cake flour, (3) reduce baking powder to 3t, (4) reduce almond extract to 1/2t and (5) add 1/2t salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States