One - Two - Three - Four Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2000
This is a really great cake. My family loved it. It's easy to make and taste rich and light. It has become one of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I've had a hard time finding a yellow cake recipe that I like. I remember my childhood friend making a 1,2,3,4, cake. I tried this one. It is very good. It's a definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I used this recipe for my dad's birthday cake and filled it with lemon icing also from this site. This is everything you could wish for in a cake. Light, fluffy and moist. It's also easy to make which is always a bonus. Thankyou Janice for a recipe I know I will make many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2001
Excellent white cake recipe! After eating this, you'll never want to make another box cake mix again. I'm a novice cake baker and this was very easy to put together and very well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
The first time I've ever baked a yellow cake from scratch that tasted good. (Truthfully its only the second time I've ever baked a yellow cake from scratch...). I added 1/4 tsp of almond extract and a dash rum extract in addition to the vanilla for some extra punch. I also did cheat and added some (a small box) instant pudding to the mix for increased moistness. The batter is REALLY thick and pasty before adding the whites. I thought I had done something wrong, but once I folded (not stirred!) in the whites it seemed better. And baked up perfectly. This is light and fluffy for a scratch cake, but a bit denser than a boxed cake. It tastes much more homemade and "real" then cakes loaded with hydrogenated oils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2000
mmmm... this is a wonderful cake, & one of my new favorites, I put chocolate icing on mine, and also used baking soda instead of baking powder because I ran out but don't think that made too much of a difference. You must try this cake now it's so great! And it's fun to make too, with an electric mixer it barely takes any time, and it looks beautiful when finished and came out of the pans perfectly too. & 1 more thing, you only have to bake it for 25 min. so it's quite quick. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
What a very soft cake! I used a little extra vanilla and stirred in bittersweet chocolate chips at the end and made cupcakes. Awesome. No need for icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Thank you for reminding me of this wonderful basic cake. My mother made it frequently and I had lost the recipe. It is definitely, in my opinion,an excellent layer cake. Make with butter and pure vanilla plus chocolate frosting it is heavenly. Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I really love to make this cake! It tastes so good, my husband absolutely loves it (and loves me for making it!!), and goes great with a number of different toppings/frostings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This is a very good, very easy recipe. I baked mini cupcakes, for about 7-8 minutes, till just done. The kids LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metread

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pineville, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States