One - Two - Three - Four Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This is literally the worst cake I've ever made in my life. I followed the recipe to a t and it is absolutely awful. Thick, dry, flavourless. What a waste of time and energy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This is a great recipe. My mom gave me this one years ago. That's how I learned to cook my 1st cake!!!! Great for beginners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This recipe didn't work out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
It's true what a review says about not wanting to buy cake mix again after doing this recipe. The cake tastes amazing and has a wonderful consistency; spongy and at the same time moist. Best of all it's made from every day ingredients. It can be glazed, frosted or served just as it is with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I cheated and took a shortcut - um, I didn't separate the eggs and do the whole beat the egg whites until stiff thing - and it still turned out great. But it was a little short on flavor. More vanilla or some other additional flavoring might help, and a little salt definitely would have. This made much too big a cake for just Hubs and me so I experimented and baked 1/3 of the recipe (scaled it to 12 servings) in an 8-inch square pan. It didn't take long to bake - 18-20 minutes maybe. When cooled I just cut it in half, and used each half as a layer. It made a cute little loaf shaped layer cake for the two of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Great recipe for when you wake up on a Sunday morning without a cake mix and you need to make a cake with out going to the grocery store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Crestline, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I made this recipe into a bunt cake and baked it an hour. I also added a tsp of Almond extract. It turned out golden; I topped it with a quick and easy lemon glaze. The whole thing came out perfect; a nice basic cake. Lemon Glazed* 1/3 cup lemon juice 2 cups confectioners' sugar 2 tablespoons butter, melted 1 tablespoon water From Allrecipies Lemon Glazed Cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I made this cake today - wanted something sweet - it was just the thing I needed. Great texture, moist, and good taste that you can put any frosting/topping on. This will be my GO TO recipe. The only thing I did differently was with the egg whites. I don't have a beater to stiffen egg whites so I added the sugar to them and whipped it by hand for a minute or so after it was blended, then added it to the mixture. Also, I don't have round baking pans. It made a 9x12 rectangle and an 8x5 oval pan, so it is a large amount. I think next time I will cut the recipe in half. I live along. :-) But, tomorrow the seniors at our Coffee Shop will love it. Thanks bunches for the recipe!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East York, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Followed exactly on the recipe. Just sprinkled chopped almonds and chocolate chips on top for extra flavor. My mum's favorite. Will definitely bake it again. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ayu

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Made this in a rented house kitchen using what was available in the pantry, no scales, no measuring cups, unrefined course grained sugar, very little butter and scaled it down to use just 2 eggs. Even leaving out the vanilla, using twice the amount of baking powder, using a glass and estimating the amounts, this cake came out lovely and moist, very light also. The oven didn't have a temperature gage (either high, medium or low) so baked in on low for 30 min (I was told anything higher than low in the holiday gas oven would guarantee to burn food. It was too light and airy to cut in half to make a cake but... I stewed 2 sliced peaches in some water and unrefined sugar and poured the resulting syrup over the cake. I then spread it with strawberry jam and topped it with the sliced peaches. Everyone loved this make-shift dessert. I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States