One - Two - Three - Four Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2000
mmmm... this is a wonderful cake, & one of my new favorites, I put chocolate icing on mine, and also used baking soda instead of baking powder because I ran out but don't think that made too much of a difference. You must try this cake now it's so great! And it's fun to make too, with an electric mixer it barely takes any time, and it looks beautiful when finished and came out of the pans perfectly too. & 1 more thing, you only have to bake it for 25 min. so it's quite quick. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2001
Excellent white cake recipe! After eating this, you'll never want to make another box cake mix again. I'm a novice cake baker and this was very easy to put together and very well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doughgirl8
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I really liked this recipe for a classic yellow cake. I let my ingredients come up to room temperature before I started mixing. Next time, I might add an additional egg yolk just for a deeper yellow color. I used two 8-inch cake pans, so I needed to increase the baking time since I had more batter per pan. I started testing the cakes at 25 minutes, and they took about 35-40 minutes. The cake wasn't too dry for me, but next time I may use a soaking syrup for just a little added moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This was one of the best cakes I've ever made. Frosted with milk chocolate frosting (sift together 6 T cocoa with 2 1/2 c powdered sugar, cream 1/2 c butter, add 5 T whole milk or cream, 1 t. vanilla and cocoa/sugar mixture and beat the heck out of it - if too thick, add more milk), it made a lovely birthday cake for my mom. The only thing I added was 1/2 t. salt because I used unsalted butter. The cake flour gives it a fine, soft crumb, so be sure to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2000
This is a really great cake. My family loved it. It's easy to make and taste rich and light. It has become one of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This is a very good, very easy recipe. I baked mini cupcakes, for about 7-8 minutes, till just done. The kids LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metread

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I cheated and took a shortcut - um, I didn't separate the eggs and do the whole beat the egg whites until stiff thing - and it still turned out great. But it was a little short on flavor. More vanilla or some other additional flavoring might help, and a little salt definitely would have. This made much too big a cake for just Hubs and me so I experimented and baked 1/3 of the recipe (scaled it to 12 servings) in an 8-inch square pan. It didn't take long to bake - 18-20 minutes maybe. When cooled I just cut it in half, and used each half as a layer. It made a cute little loaf shaped layer cake for the two of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I used this recipe for my dad's birthday cake and filled it with lemon icing also from this site. This is everything you could wish for in a cake. Light, fluffy and moist. It's also easy to make which is always a bonus. Thankyou Janice for a recipe I know I will make many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
Although easy and relatively quick, the cake was dry and had little flavor. We did not like it at all and ended up throwing most of it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Nice, easy recipe. Good in place of any boxed yellow mix. We made it both with separating eggs and not separating, and it came out fine both times. We did add 1 teaspoon salt to recipe. And, by the way, 36 servings means it makes 36 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leonia, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States