One - Two - Three - Four Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Followed exactly on the recipe. Just sprinkled chopped almonds and chocolate chips on top for extra flavor. My mum's favorite. Will definitely bake it again. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ayu

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Made this in a rented house kitchen using what was available in the pantry, no scales, no measuring cups, unrefined course grained sugar, very little butter and scaled it down to use just 2 eggs. Even leaving out the vanilla, using twice the amount of baking powder, using a glass and estimating the amounts, this cake came out lovely and moist, very light also. The oven didn't have a temperature gage (either high, medium or low) so baked in on low for 30 min (I was told anything higher than low in the holiday gas oven would guarantee to burn food. It was too light and airy to cut in half to make a cake but... I stewed 2 sliced peaches in some water and unrefined sugar and poured the resulting syrup over the cake. I then spread it with strawberry jam and topped it with the sliced peaches. Everyone loved this make-shift dessert. I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This is a very good, very easy recipe. I baked mini cupcakes, for about 7-8 minutes, till just done. The kids LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metread

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
The first time I've ever baked a yellow cake from scratch that tasted good. (Truthfully its only the second time I've ever baked a yellow cake from scratch...). I added 1/4 tsp of almond extract and a dash rum extract in addition to the vanilla for some extra punch. I also did cheat and added some (a small box) instant pudding to the mix for increased moistness. The batter is REALLY thick and pasty before adding the whites. I thought I had done something wrong, but once I folded (not stirred!) in the whites it seemed better. And baked up perfectly. This is light and fluffy for a scratch cake, but a bit denser than a boxed cake. It tastes much more homemade and "real" then cakes loaded with hydrogenated oils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Nice, easy recipe. Good in place of any boxed yellow mix. We made it both with separating eggs and not separating, and it came out fine both times. We did add 1 teaspoon salt to recipe. And, by the way, 36 servings means it makes 36 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leonia, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This is my all-time favorite yellow cake recipe! It's moist and delicious. This cake is so tasty that it doesn't need frosting...it's that good! I substituted 1/2 cup Crisco shortening and 1/2 cup butter, rather than a full cup of butter (to save money).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I added 1 teaspoon of Almond & 1 teaspoon of Lemon. The cake was perfect. I iced it with my grandma's choclated icing and there wasn't a crumb left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kamala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
The cake was okay. I didn't think it was worth the time. Won't make this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I first made this cake when I was 10. Here's my new faster version: With the electric mixer, beat the 4 eggs all at once, add 2 cups sugar, 1 cup veg oil, 1 cup orange juice, 2 1/2 cups of flour, 3tsp baking powder, pinch of salt. Mix until well blended, bake 55 to 60 min in a 350 oven. I use a tube pan greased and sugared (instead of flour) it gives a crunchy crust. This is a basic cake, you can do pretty much anything with it. But my family loves it as is specially with a cup of coffee...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Laval, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Good tasting cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARPVET

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States