On the Go Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
I liked this a lot and my husband asked for seconds. The olives really make this dish. Don't be afraid to try this dish if you are not a big olive fan. If I had told hubby there were olives in it -- he probably would have turned up his nose. I didn't have mushrooms to add and I used the smoked sausage I had on hand. I threw in a pinch of summer savory and shake or two of seasoned salt. I also added about half an onion - diced - to the sausage as I sautéed it. But I don't think any of my minor alterations changed the dish much. For a casserole, this is unique in that it is not heavy on a sauce or gravy so the subtle flavors really sparkle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
Great recipe with such a unique combination of flavors. I used turkey sausage and cooked it with chopped onion, celery, basil and parsley. I left out the mushrooms and next time I will leave out the corn (corn did not go well with this dish). Instead I will add some green or red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2004
Change hot sausage to mild Italian sausage, and doubled the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I did like trying something out of the ordinary. It is not a traditional casserole. The hot sausage was too spicy for my taste. My husband said he didn't like the olive combination. It wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Used mozzarella cheese instead and it turned out fine. Also added garlic and onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby Major

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kittanning, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
This was very tasty meal which used ingredients I usually have on hand. I didn't use hot sausage, but added red pepper flakes for individual plating as desired. This also held and reheated quite well. We will definitely enjoy this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I was stuck for something different to make, and came across this recipe. It was absolutely delicious! It is a comfort food and my family needs it with our cold winters. My husband had two huge servings and took the leftovers to his parents, who gobbled it all up in one sitting. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out wonderful. This is a keeper in our house. Thank you so much for such an easy recipe that has so much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRINCESSBING

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
We really liked this. I had no sausage, so I substituted ground beef with taco seasoning as another review suggested and went a step further to substitute salsa for the stewed tomatoes. It was fantastic! The green olives are something I would not have thought of with a taco flavor - but it all made friends together in the oven. Happy mouths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Not bad at all! We were looking for something different using spicy sausage & this recipe fit the bill! We added some onion & some orange bell pepper(cleaning out the fridge). We had large green olives stuffed with garlic & that worked out very well, loved the bite from the olives. The black olives added to the texture & presentation, but not much flavor.We doubled the recipe & added more rice then called for, so I thought it was i bit dry when I was mixing it, so I popped open a small can of V-8 juice & added that. Just enough moisture! Fit nicely in a 13x9 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lackawanna, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
My husband and I enjoyed this casserole. Neither of us like olives so I did omit the green olives and we tried the black. Didn't even notice them in there. I used canned mushrooms and brown rice. I served it with Sour Cream and Cholula Hot sauce on top and that was really the finishing touch. It was a necessary boost to the overall flavor. I am definitely going to serve this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States