On Wisconsin Beer Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Great recipe and perfect for every Packers fan! I brought this to my friends house for our usual game day potlucks and it was a hit! The brats plump up so nicely in the beer and are really juicy and flavorful. I didn't use the brown sugar since I don't like sweet brats, and I added more beer. I also just warmed the sauerkraut separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lancasterk01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
too much butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Did not like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Wow! These are great. Tons of flavor and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I cut this recipe in half. I used only one can of beer, one large onion, I upped the garlic to four cloves and kept the sauerkraut, garlic powder and cayenne pepper at the same amount. My family really liked this, me especially because it was SO simple. I'll be making this a lot, I'll tell you. NOTE: I have a newer crockpot so mine cooks a lot hotter than my old 60's thrifted version. I only needed about an hour and a half on mine, so cooking times may differ depending on your crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
These are the best stinkin' brats I ever ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
MY FAMILY THOUGHT THEY WERE GREAT WE WILL DEFINETLY MAKE THIS RECIPIE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I'm from Wisconsin and have been tailgating for 40 years in Madison and Green Bay. I have to tell you that if you are going to have a Wisconsin Brat, you better grill them first and have your hot marinade ready to receive them off the grill. Once off the grill, allow them to set for at least an hour in the marinade before serving. I usually make brats for a "crowd" the day before and allow the brats to sit overnight in the marinade. An hour or so before the tail gate I simply take my "huge" Bucky Pot full of brats and marinade and place it right on the grill for the "re heat". The brats are flavorful and melt in you mouth... oh, don't forget, use a slotted spoon to take out the sliced onions and garlic from the marinade to put on the brats.. OUT OF THIS WORLD. This is a good recipe for rainy days but, I agree with another reviewer, the flavor of the brat is lost to some degree in this recipe. You must also use a "strong" full bodied dark beer. I would use Augsburger Bock beer if it were still made out of Monroe, Wisconsin... ahhhh those good old fall days with a blue sky, cool breeze, the scent of fall leaves and grills, a cold beer, the laughter of friends and a good old fashion Wisconsin brat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIM F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I kind a use this recipe as an idea to cook the brats this evening, since my boyfriend brought some fully cooked brats. First I heat up 1 tbls oil and 1 tbls butter then add sliced onion and add dash of cayenne pepper, a dash of chill pepper, and mix all together let it cook in medium heat until brown, then add garlic and cook till the garlic about to turn brown, then I put the pre-cook brats and cook together for another 2 mins. Then I put in one bottle of "New Castle" and let it boil . Then turn to simmer low heat, and let it cook for at least 1 hours. Then take out the brats and put aside, and put sauerkraut in the liquid and let it simmer under low heat until all the liquid almost dry down. Meanwhile, put the brats in the grill on low heat and keep your eyes on it. If you see burns mark or bubble on one side, turn the brats to another side, keep checking until the casing look kind a dry but not burst or crack open, then is really to eat. Put some of you buns on the grill for 30 sec to a minutes each side. And use brown mustard instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I followed some other reviews and poked my brats with a fork so they wouldn't expand. I liked this recipe, however, my children did not. I still give it a 4 but I will know next time it's not for the kiddo's. We also did not use the optional sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Wisconsin Bratwurst

These classic brats are boiled in beer and onions and finished on the grill.

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States