On Wisconsin Beer Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
No so great. I thought it sounded good for a quick mid-week dinner. I followed the recipe put it all in the crock pot adding the kraut at the end. I found it to be soupy and greasy. Won't do that again. I should have read the reviews as I now see others had the same complaint. Definitely have to grill brats not boil them in oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This turned out to be a surprising success at yesterday's party! Instead of 3 cans of light beer, I used 2 bottles of Guinness and then 12 oz of beef broth. And I did not use sauerkraut. The brats were mushy, but it wasn't gross mushy. Several people commented on how tasty the onions were. Score!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Wow, I am cooking this right now and all three of my children walked in and said "It smells like Germany!!" Thank you so much, this brings back wonderful memories and tastes FANTASTIC! I will be following anything else you post!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Our go to when we are having a back yard party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
These are incredible. You definitely should brown them on the grill or a skillet (only for about 5-10 minutes) before throwing them in the bath. My Super Bowl party dug into mine after about six hours in the bath and everyone raved. There were even some gals who didn't think they'd enjoy bratwurst who went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sideorder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I made this w/Kielbasa! I did grill it first, according to some reviews, then into the pot it went. We didn't slow cook it and it came out perfect. Used 1 yengling and 1# of smoked Kielbasa then everything went into the pot w/sauerkraut last. Add caraway seeds and hit w/mustard after it goes into bowls!!! YUMMY!!! Thanks for this recipe! We devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wild bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Seriously, these are amazing. I will never cook a brat another way. I used Shipyard Oktoberfest beer for this, and it was awesome. I don't even like beer, but this was just delicious. The brats were so tender! The only thing I might do next time is cut down on the cayenne pepper, as the onions were too spicy to eat on their own (this is just me, as my husband said they were fine).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
You MUST grill that brat first. It is a MUST, to get that grilled flavor into the sausage. I am from Wisconsin, and know my brats. This is a good recipe, but please, grill that brat first. ( I am watching the Badgers kick some Nebraska butt right now, GO BADGERS!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fall River, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
These are the best. I followed the basic recipe with a few changes, using only one chopped onion, cumin, paprika, no sugar or butter, full beer and 2+ tbl. dry Uncle Joe's Southwest BBQ seasoning and didn't use the sauerkraut. I put 15 frozen brats, fork pieced four times each, in the crock pot overnight. Eight hours on low and ending with one hour on high. The frozen brats tend not to become mushy, dryout or overcook. Took them out and on to the Vikings vs. Chargers tailgate for a finish on the charcoal grill. Instead of the sauerkraut, I cooked down strips of green and red bell pepper with yellow onion until soft, a little olive oil while cooking. The strips were served on a good bun with the brat and condiments by choice. These really went fast. People were coming over asking for a taste. A lot of Viking jerseys in the crowd. One fellow from New York said these were the best brats he ever ate. Another former northern midwesterner asked for the recipe, he was giving up his traditional family recipe for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
These were great. I actually used a can of beef broth in place of one can of beer. I also grilled them for a bit after they were fulled cooked. I feel that the slow cooker makes them pretty mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beer Pulled Pork

Check out this simple, yet tasty slow cooker pork.

Wisconsin Bratwurst

These classic brats are boiled in beer and onions and finished on the grill.

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States