On Wisconsin Beer Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I've never cared for brats one way or another nor do I eat bread so this recipe was perfect for me. Yes, the brats were soggy, which was perfect with those lovely onions & 'kraut. Add a little mustard & the flavor is heavenly. I used chili powder instead of cayenne & added more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
These are a no brainer! Outstanding weather it be the summer time or football in the fall these brats are excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Excellent marinade! I followed a suggestion and grilled the brats first then simmered them for an hour after. I just put two whole garlic cloves in the mix instead of the minced for a more subtle flavor. I used my vegetable slicer and made the onions into fine strings and also added sauerkraut to the mixture. I made sandwiches on French rolls & sliced pickles and added them along with Dijon mustard. It's rare that a new meal comes out perfect the first time but this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Easy for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This recipe was good. I made 30 brats for a potluck I was having at work and the crowd loved them. I did put them on the grill for about 10 minutes and poked holes in them befor putting them in the crock pot. For the 30 brats I made I only used about a half a cup of butter, 4 beers and only 2 large onions but left all other ingredients the same. I cooked them all in one pot so I just arranged them to fit and poured the beer in until the brats were covered. Cooked them on high for about 3 1/2 hours and then turned on warm for self serve. Would make this again for a crowd and no grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I make this minus the beer, adding sauerkraut, in a skillet on the stove to put over even lowly hot dogs. Addictive as crack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
No so great. I thought it sounded good for a quick mid-week dinner. I followed the recipe put it all in the crock pot adding the kraut at the end. I found it to be soupy and greasy. Won't do that again. I should have read the reviews as I now see others had the same complaint. Definitely have to grill brats not boil them in oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This turned out to be a surprising success at yesterday's party! Instead of 3 cans of light beer, I used 2 bottles of Guinness and then 12 oz of beef broth. And I did not use sauerkraut. The brats were mushy, but it wasn't gross mushy. Several people commented on how tasty the onions were. Score!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Wow, I am cooking this right now and all three of my children walked in and said "It smells like Germany!!" Thank you so much, this brings back wonderful memories and tastes FANTASTIC! I will be following anything else you post!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Our go to when we are having a back yard party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Wisconsin Bratwurst

These classic brats are boiled in beer and onions and finished on the grill.

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States