On Wisconsin Beer Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Easy for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This recipe was good. I made 30 brats for a potluck I was having at work and the crowd loved them. I did put them on the grill for about 10 minutes and poked holes in them befor putting them in the crock pot. For the 30 brats I made I only used about a half a cup of butter, 4 beers and only 2 large onions but left all other ingredients the same. I cooked them all in one pot so I just arranged them to fit and poured the beer in until the brats were covered. Cooked them on high for about 3 1/2 hours and then turned on warm for self serve. Would make this again for a crowd and no grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I make this minus the beer, adding sauerkraut, in a skillet on the stove to put over even lowly hot dogs. Addictive as crack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
No so great. I thought it sounded good for a quick mid-week dinner. I followed the recipe put it all in the crock pot adding the kraut at the end. I found it to be soupy and greasy. Won't do that again. I should have read the reviews as I now see others had the same complaint. Definitely have to grill brats not boil them in oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This turned out to be a surprising success at yesterday's party! Instead of 3 cans of light beer, I used 2 bottles of Guinness and then 12 oz of beef broth. And I did not use sauerkraut. The brats were mushy, but it wasn't gross mushy. Several people commented on how tasty the onions were. Score!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Wow, I am cooking this right now and all three of my children walked in and said "It smells like Germany!!" Thank you so much, this brings back wonderful memories and tastes FANTASTIC! I will be following anything else you post!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Our go to when we are having a back yard party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
These are incredible. You definitely should brown them on the grill or a skillet (only for about 5-10 minutes) before throwing them in the bath. My Super Bowl party dug into mine after about six hours in the bath and everyone raved. There were even some gals who didn't think they'd enjoy bratwurst who went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sideorder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I made this w/Kielbasa! I did grill it first, according to some reviews, then into the pot it went. We didn't slow cook it and it came out perfect. Used 1 yengling and 1# of smoked Kielbasa then everything went into the pot w/sauerkraut last. Add caraway seeds and hit w/mustard after it goes into bowls!!! YUMMY!!! Thanks for this recipe! We devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wild bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Seriously, these are amazing. I will never cook a brat another way. I used Shipyard Oktoberfest beer for this, and it was awesome. I don't even like beer, but this was just delicious. The brats were so tender! The only thing I might do next time is cut down on the cayenne pepper, as the onions were too spicy to eat on their own (this is just me, as my husband said they were fine).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States