On Wisconsin Beer Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
All loved it but my son(brat boy)I think he likes them grilled period...lol For beer I used Redds Apple Ale...thumbs up highly recommend Did have a strong onion flavor... And slow cooked for 8 hours instead of on high for 5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
This recipe is great, but I made some changes to the steps and the results were out of this world Sear the Brats on all sides on a hot skillet (I use my cast iron) so that each side is blackened/brown and set them aside to rest. Next add the 1/2 cup of butter and melt it down then add all of the onions (I use vidalias and cut them into strips) and reduce them down real nice so they are nice and caramelized. Then add in the three beers (I used bud light just for something neutral) and once the beer was in then I put in the dry ingredients but added a little salt and black pepper. brought it down to a simmer and reduced it to about 1/3. Next I put the brats in the slowcooker and dumped the onion/beer on top and set it on high for two hours. DO NOT STIR THE BRATS while you'll want to mix it up it will result and uneven coating and the brats will have a less robust flavor. Finally take them out of the slowcooker, turn it off and then put the brats on the grill for about a minute on each side. Put the onions on top of the brats and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicholas Smalley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Delicious and authentic Wisconsin Beer Brats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdigitaldiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Delicious! They weren't soggy or mushy at all. I didn't leave them in for a full 5 hours though, and made up the kraut separately. As others have mentioned, prick the brats all over with a fork and grill them just a bit before putting them in the bath, makes them even that much better. The pricking prevents the mushiness and expansion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I've never cared for brats one way or another nor do I eat bread so this recipe was perfect for me. Yes, the brats were soggy, which was perfect with those lovely onions & 'kraut. Add a little mustard & the flavor is heavenly. I used chili powder instead of cayenne & added more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J9Brenna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
These are a no brainer! Outstanding weather it be the summer time or football in the fall these brats are excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Excellent marinade! I followed a suggestion and grilled the brats first then simmered them for an hour after. I just put two whole garlic cloves in the mix instead of the minced for a more subtle flavor. I used my vegetable slicer and made the onions into fine strings and also added sauerkraut to the mixture. I made sandwiches on French rolls & sliced pickles and added them along with Dijon mustard. It's rare that a new meal comes out perfect the first time but this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Easy for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This recipe was good. I made 30 brats for a potluck I was having at work and the crowd loved them. I did put them on the grill for about 10 minutes and poked holes in them befor putting them in the crock pot. For the 30 brats I made I only used about a half a cup of butter, 4 beers and only 2 large onions but left all other ingredients the same. I cooked them all in one pot so I just arranged them to fit and poured the beer in until the brats were covered. Cooked them on high for about 3 1/2 hours and then turned on warm for self serve. Would make this again for a crowd and no grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Moore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I make this minus the beer, adding sauerkraut, in a skillet on the stove to put over even lowly hot dogs. Addictive as crack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beer Pulled Pork

Check out this simple, yet tasty slow cooker pork.

Wisconsin Bratwurst

These classic brats are boiled in beer and onions and finished on the grill.

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States