Omelet in a Mug Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Fast, easy, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Omelet in a Mug Haiku: "Fool-proof recipe. (But use Tons of cooking spray.) Super-fast and good." I worked at a bagel joint years ago, and this was how we made the eggies for bagel sandwiches. Really can't go wrong w/ the ease of this method when you need a quick breakfast. I used 2 eggs, rather than splitting out the whites, and added a sprinkle of chopped green onion. Guess my microwave's a power-house b/c mine popped and splattered a bit, but thankfully, I'd used a heavy hand on the Pam-squirter, so the mug wasn't difficult to clean. Hard to rate this any less than 5 stars, not just for its ease of prep, but for the countless ways to change around the ingredients to suit one's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Clever, SHARLENE J MCKEE. She has such good recipes. And the people who commented really did well too -- good ideas. Plus-plus on this one. Me, I used a bit of salsa (no milk) for a huevos rancheros fling. Next time I'll make it a chili cheese omelet. Use the same mug to preheat the chili and then pour in the eggs. No pan to wash up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This is a winner! Simple and yummy and very pretty. I need to take a few pics next time I make it. I don't consider my microwave to by very powerful but after about 45 seconds during round two in the microwave my omlette was billowing over, so you might want to keep an eye on your mug during the second round in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ace

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Maitland, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I used Florentine egg beaters, Swiss cheese, bacon and onion. Tasted like a wonderful little quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This is Hilarious !!! I think Sharlene has been spying on my kitchen, LOL. My wife is VERY calorie conscious ( though she doesn't really need to be) and since I'm the cook I'm always trying to fix something that fits in her plans and is tasty. I've been making her this type of omelet for more than a year and it has been a complete success. She doesn't eat pork, so instead of the ham, I have used turkey ham or a good quality, and also I make the omelet a bit larger, using 2 whole eggs and 2 egg whites. Also keep sauteed mushrooms in fridge at all times, so add those, also use a bit more diced pepper ( sorry, only use red), and a bit of dehydrated onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoghat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I like this mostly, because of how easy it is to do and hardly any clean up. No matter how much of a rush I'm in, I can always spare 2 minutes and have a healthy breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I make this every weekend for our group home consumers. Only I use a bowl with a tablespoon of butter around the perimeter of the bowl, crack 1 egg in the center, mix with a fork, add 1 tablespoon of water, place in microwave for 1 min, at 30 seconds I place a slice of cheese on top. Perfect everytime !! AND the feedback is ++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebInOH

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sylvania, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
This is the second time I've made this, the first time following the recipe to the letter...it was very good. This time I made two Egg McMuffins (used ramekins, the perfect size) and cooked for about 2-1/2 minutes on high in the microwave. The omelet was in between a slice of American cheese on the bottom and Canadian bacon on the top and sandwiched onto a toasted English muffin. This time I used Southwestern Egg Beaters (1/4 cup for each sandwich) which tasted delicious. With the two ramekins going into the dishwasher and hand washing one small skillet for the Canadian bacon, the cleanup was easy (no more messy egg rings to scrub!). This is now my go-to method for making Egg McMuffins, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I have made these for ages. The only difference is I add a tablesppon or so of milk when I whisk the eggs to make them fluffier. Very easy and quick to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Baked Denver Omelet

It's baked like a frittata, with ham, bell pepper, onions, and Cheddar cheese.

Paleo Omelet Muffins

See how to make the perfect paleo-friendly, grab-and-go breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States