Omelet in a Mug Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This is nothing but microwaved scrambled eggs that was featured in every microwave cookbook from the 80's. I make them every other day or so. with a sausage patty or slice of Virginia ham and a slice of cheese you have a great muffin sandwich. I cook the egg on power level 7 for 2 min. per egg to prevent the egg from rubberizing, stir once after 1 min. and it is the perfect egg disk for a muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dagus Mines, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I have been making my omelets and scrambled eggs like this for years. Only I don't time them - I watch them. When I see them start to expand, I open the mic and stir them up and put them back in until they start to expand again and keep doing this until they are the desired doneness. I also notice it prevents the rubberiness that some people get. They get rubbery when they get overcooked. My method prevents them from overcooking. I also "fry" eggs in the mic in a dish coated with your favorite whatever. I prefer butter, it gives the egg a nice brown crispy edge. By the way I am a vegan and no longer eat eggs or non-vegan butter but will pass this tidbit along to those of you who haven't seen the error of your ways so to speak :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This was a lifesaver for us. We lost power during the storm. Had a generator but could not use the stove, only the microwave. So tried this and it worked out great. My husband likes his eggs so this recipe was wonderful. I used just 2 eggs, ham, a slice of cheese and added a little chopped onion,a tablespoon of water. It was nice and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
My name is André and I live in Germany. Have been all recipe fan for years. This IS the best i have seen for a long time. A great Idea,quick, no fuss, variable and tasty WELL DONE:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Super easy. makes for less clean up when "cooking" for one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by npaulus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Using EVOO spray is the way to go. I just add whatever I have and feel in the mood for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This is simply genius. I add turkey sausage to it too (the stuff that's already cooked) and it's a super easy breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Holy cow! How am I just now finding out about this?! Thank you, so easy and fun. 1200 watts, 2 eggs (turkey ham and cheese) 2 minutes exactly. Can't wait to experiment further, a little milk and/or egg whites next time...Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Loved this! I used diced cooked sausage instead of bacon and diced cheddar so there were little pockets of cheese in the omelet. And, no pan to clean when I get home from work!! But, do use a tall mug - it does rise while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I have been doing this for over 30 years....Started with breakfast at work. Kept a few eggs in fridge at work and slices of cheese and butter. I have found over the years that different mw take different times. I first try to stir at 30 sec. then 15 sec and then every 10 sec after that. If it cooks for too long, it becomes rubbery. Take it out just BEFORE it is cooked. It will continue to cook for the next 10 sec. so, if you keep it cooking in the mw until done, it will be overdone...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Baked Denver Omelet

It's baked like a frittata, with ham, bell pepper, onions, and Cheddar cheese.

Paleo Omelet Muffins

See how to make the perfect paleo-friendly, grab-and-go breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States