Oma's Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I made this cake for my sister's birthday and everyone loved it!!! It was easy to make and turned out really moist and flavourful. The crumbly topping was perfectly crunchy- the combination of soft cake and crunchy top was marvelous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
A nice moist cake. I found the crumb topping to be just the right amount. I used fat free sour cream and splenda instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Easy, simple and delicious! I didn't have sour cream on hand so I substituted plain yogurt. I used 3/4 cup of packed brown sugar instead of white sugar (personal taste preference) and also added 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts to the topping. I'll make this again. UPDATE May 8, 2011: If anyone is interested in cutting back calories - I've made this using 3/4 cup sugar in the cake and only half the topping. Still delicious with a crusty crunchy top. This may depend on how sour your rhubarb is. Also, try using a cup of red currants in place of 1 cup of rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
WOW! I am very impressed with this recipe. It was absolutly fabulous--moist, sweet, chewey, with a crunchy topping. Just awesome! Will make with half brown sugar next time (and all brown sugar in the topping) and put a little cinnamon in the batter as well. Thanks so much for this great recipe, I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIFAERIE79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Platteville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Excellent recipe! My husband's grandmother called me for the recipe...and I've been bragging that grandma wanted one of my recipes! It was so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Very moist and flavorful cake. I got great reviews. However, if the topping was suppose to be a crumb topping like a crumb cake, mine did not turn out that way. More flour would have been needed. I will be using this recipe again in the near future. I used frozen rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Wow...Wow! YUMMY is all I can say about this cake...I actually just got this recipe from a friend and came on here to see if anything like this was already posted - this is the exact same recipe and it is amazing! Not too overwhelming with rhubarb but something different than pie or jam. Definately a keeper - you MUST try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckyh8177

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I made it as above (well, I had an extra cup of rhubarb- so I just dumped it there too). Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimbostar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
What a winner! Noticing the recipe called for no fat, I was tempted to add a 1/2 stick of butter and I'm so glad I didn't and stuck to the recipe as written, only adding 1 tsp. of vanilla to the batter. This was SO nice and moist with a perfect amount of rhubarb. Any more, I fear, might have made this soggy rather than cakey, particularly after the first day. I was afraid of glopping on the cinnamon by shaking it over the topping, so rather than take a chance I mixed maybe 3/4 tsp. of cinnamon in with the topping ingredients. Good call I think! This is simply a great, old fashioned coffee cake - nice balance of rich, moist cake, delicately flavored with rhubarb and topped with a buttery, crackly, streusel. Grandmas always seem to know how to do it best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by food4fit
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I was initially drawn to this recipe because of the minimal fat. I adapted the recipe a bit to try and make it a little healthier: I used 1/2 the amount of sugar (by using Splenda brown sugar) and used whole wheat flour in both the cake and topping. I added 2 tbsp of egg white as I found the cake batter a little dry. And I also used 2 tbsp of apple sauce instead of the oil for the topping. It was REALLY more like a paste, so I had to put it on top by spreading it out by hand. I also baked them in muffin trays as they're a little more portable, but my rhubarb chunks were a little large, so they tended to collapse a bit. I also added the cinnemon as well as ground cloves and allspice into the topping. But VERY moist and delicious cake! Will DEFINATELY make again and look forward to adapting even more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by food4fit

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States