Oma's Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This cake has been added to my "Last Meal' menu. It will make leaving this world much less painful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j.e.dore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
My husband & I scarfed this whole cake in a day. Unbelievably delicious and moist! I didn't change a thing, except I used 4 cups of rhubarb. I have at least that much left, so guess what I am making again today? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peabozzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I started making this and realized I didn't have any sour cream so I used 3/4 cup buttermilk and it was still great! I will make this again using the correct ingredients, but I can imagine it will only taste better. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I didn't have sour cream, so I used plain milk with 1 T vinegar....it turned out GREAT! You need to leave the milk and vinegar out for about 1/2 hour, so it curdles the milk a bit. Other than that, I made just like the recipe. It is SOOO DELICIOUS! THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This recipe was just what I was looking for. I followed the recipe just the way it was written too. Which is odd for me normally I like to add my own twists. But no chnages needed here. I shared this cake with a large group and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheDish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Used less sugar than called for (1 c in cake, 1/4 c in topping), turned out great. Moist & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Fantastic! I didn't have quite three cups of rhubarb, so I added on large apple cut up. I also used 3/4 cup of brown sugar and 1/4 white sugar in the topping, also added in ten or so grahm crackers and sprinkled with cinnimon sugar which was all I had. The topping was crunchy, inside was moist. Made it for my moms birthday tea and cake to have with her Aunt. We all loved it! First time I ever impressed my mom with my baking skills! Thanks Oma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I was one of five people asked to make a Rhubarb cake for my nephew's grad party, I was the last cake to arrive, but the first to be gone! This recipe was GREAT! I did add the extra cup of rhubarb as others suggested, and 1 cup of brown sugar and did 1/2 cup brown sugar with 3/4 cup of white sugar. I will be making this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This review is for all you high altitude bakers out there. I live at 7500 feet. Not extremely high but not sea level either, so many of these cakes don't turn out the same for me as they do for people even 2000 feet lower. The recipe, as written, didn't work that well for me. Although it was tasty and moist, it was dense and somewhat tough/chewy. Not what I thought a cake should be like. Usually I just give up at that point, eat my failure and mark a par for the high altitude course. BUT...this recipe has received 5 stars from a LOT of people. So, I just had to try it again with high altitude adjustments. Below are the adjustments I made, for what turned out to be a completely different cake - moist, yet light and cakey, with a crunchy/crumbly top. I am so excited by the result I just had to share. For the batter: - moved the butter from the topping, down into the batter - reduced sugar in batter to 1c. - reduced the baking soda to 1/2 tsp - added 1 tsp baking powder - added 3T flour - added an egg I started out creaming the butter and sugar. Added eggs and sour cream. Slowly stirred in the dry ingredients, not stirring too much. Then folded in the rhubarb. The topping: 2/3c brown sugar 3/4 tsp cinnamon Temp/time: - temp up to 375 deg - 30 min until golden brown It wouldn't be fair to give the recipe less stars b/c of my altitude. I gave it, 5 stars because my end result is what I think the author intended - and it's darn tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States