Oma's Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
My husband had four pieces of this and a lot of others had seconds. I substituted the sour cream for plain yogurt and added some vanilla extract. I changed it to 4+ cups of rhubarb and put half brown and half white sugar. This cake is light and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FeistyEats
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Excellent recipe. Great reviews. I used half brown sugar and white sugar in both the cake and topping. I also used 4 cups of rhubarb. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I decided to do a brown sugar topping which I like much better and added another cup of rhubarb. Other than that, I would say it's a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by needlewings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Made it just as the recipes was listed. Seriously dense, moist cake. Looved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Yum! At first some were skeptical but in the end, it was a hit at the office. Thanks for sharing your recipe. When rhubarb season comes around again, I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I made this as our dessert for my family's Father's Day barbeque and it was a hit not only with the adults but the children loved it too! One of those kinds of desserts that you keep cutting just one more little piece off as you pass by it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rushford, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Rating: 5 stars. After all the questionable reviews, I was skeptical to try this recipe. However, I did and sure don't know what others problems are but my cake came out just perfect!! I followed the recipe with no changes and it was awesome, so don't hesitate, just ENJOY!! Your friends and family will be glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Loved it. Used whole wheat flour & yogurt as replacements as well as thawed rhubarb and it turned out great. Was not sure about the consistancy before adding the thawed rhubarb but was very pleased. I put a good bit of cinnamon over the entire pan and the flavor was great. Adding berries would have been even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This is one of the few highly rated recipes on this site that I haven't liked. I made it exactly as the recipe said but maybe I did something wrong. It took forever to get the middle cooked and when it finally was done it had more of a bread texture than cake. Also, it was lacking in flavor. I expect a rhubarb cake to be tangy and this one was very bland. The topping was like eating a bowl of sugar. I really wanted to like this and am sad that I used up the bag of rhubarb my neighbor gave me on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
It was a good recipe, but I have a rhubarb coffee cake recipe that is similar to this one, but better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States