Oma's Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Delicious. I made this gluten free by substituting gluten free flour mixture and one tsp zanthum gum in place of regular flour and used brown sugar in the topping instead of white sugar as another person suggested. Everyone loved it here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
I used peach yogurt in place of the sour cream. Swapped brown sugar for the white sugar in the topping. Let it cool completely and drizzled the top with a thin sour cream glaze. Oh my...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Good cake - my family liked it best - warm - from the oven. The cake became moister the next day - and that was not necessarily a good thing. We liked the cake the first day the best. I will make again, the flavor was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
This tasted like yums.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
Good base recipe but I think it needs some modifications. I made the recipe as written except that I reduced the sugar in the batter to 1 cup and in the topping to 3/4 cup and I still found it too sweet. The cake came out super moist, which was awesome and it think it would be great with other fruit too. However I like at least a little bit of tart in my rhubarb desserts and this was just downright sweet. Maybe it just depends on the rhubarb you use. I will play with this recipe some more to perfect it to my taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Super moist. More like a coffee cake than regular cake, but the best coffee cake I've ever had. Very easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Grove

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Beginner cook. After dicing 3 cups of rhubarb thought "THIS BETTER BE GOOD". It was. Had to bake an additional 15 minutes before the tester came out clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
A fantastic cake! I followed other reviews and added more rhubarb. It was great warm for dessert with ice cream, but would be great as a cake for a coffee hour or brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Wonderful. Added strawberries and pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I've made this at least once a month since I found it. it's wonderful. I've substituted rhubarb for cherries fresh pitted as well as frozen and blueberries. I often omit the topping and it's still delicious and a big hit with my family. I've tripled the recipe many times and it freezes really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila J. Calhoun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States