Oma's Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This cake was good, but I think it was too sweet and a little bland. Next time I will use half brown sugar in the cake and topping, add walnuts to the topping, and add vanilla and spices to the cake batter. Even though I wasn't a huge fan, my coworkers raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Good, but my husband liked the crust on the sour cream-rhubarb squares better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This is a coffee cake so it is intended to be dense and moist. The recipe is perfect as is. I used frozen rhubarb and drained it well before adding to the batter. Its great warm from the oven and just as good cold. Hubby had 2 pieces. I might try using brown sugar for the topping instead of white granulated. It is a great cake that can be used with frozen apple or fresh peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristineMalf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Invermere, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Made per directions many times. Only variation is sometimes a little more or less rhubarb. Everyone who tastes this loves it- even people who are not big rhubarb eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
My husband had four pieces of this and a lot of others had seconds. I substituted the sour cream for plain yogurt and added some vanilla extract. I changed it to 4+ cups of rhubarb and put half brown and half white sugar. This cake is light and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FeistyEats
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Excellent recipe. Great reviews. I used half brown sugar and white sugar in both the cake and topping. I also used 4 cups of rhubarb. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I decided to do a brown sugar topping which I like much better and added another cup of rhubarb. Other than that, I would say it's a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Made it just as the recipes was listed. Seriously dense, moist cake. Looved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Yum! At first some were skeptical but in the end, it was a hit at the office. Thanks for sharing your recipe. When rhubarb season comes around again, I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States