Oma's Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I added vanilla and agree with another reviewer the topping needs more flour. Absolutely delicious even with a little tweaking. Like that it uses lots of rhubarb and not fat other than sour cream in the topping. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Excellent use of the abundant rhubarb in my backyard. I used vanilla yogurt in place of sour cream and added 3/4 tsp cinnamon to the crumb topping. I baked for 35 minutes in 2 8x8 pans to share with the neighbors. A great blend of tangy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I added 4 cups freshly picked rhubarb and it didn't get soggy. I did not have sour cream, so I used 1T of lemon juice with about 3/4 cups of whipping cream. The batter is very thick - don't worry. I have added pecans to the streusel with good results... extra crunchy goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This recipe, as written, is wonderful. I've made it many times. I also like to change the white sugar out for brown sugar. I also like to add 1/4 cup oatmeal to the strudel topping for a bit of texture. Alea your Oma must have been a wonderful grandmother if she could make something this yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Lovely recipe! I didn't have sour cream, so substituted the same amount of vanilla yogurt. I also added two cups of diced strawberries. Used half whole wheat flour and half unbleached white flour. I also cut back on the sugar for the topping. It was moist and dense and fruity, much like an English bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Very Easy and delicious! I have Rhubarb exploding in my yard. I substituted 2-4oz containers of strawberry Light Yogurt for the sour cream. It was perfect - strawberry rhubarb cake! Less Calories too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Koch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I didn't have sour cream, so I used a 6 oz container of low cal peach yogurt and the rest mayo! Also threw in some brown sugar in the topping mix. This is seriously one of the best cakes I've ever made! I love that I now have something delicious to make with the rhubarb that grows in my yard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Awesome cake!!! just made 2 for my dad who is in assisted living home, and they all raved about it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndy H

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Very moist and flavorful. And very easy to make, only Change I made was I added cinnamon to crumble instead of sprinkling on time. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashaway, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This cake was good, but I think it was too sweet and a little bland. Next time I will use half brown sugar in the cake and topping, add walnuts to the topping, and add vanilla and spices to the cake batter. Even though I wasn't a huge fan, my coworkers raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States