Oma's Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Used less sugar than called for (1 c in cake, 1/4 c in topping), turned out great. Moist & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Fantastic! I didn't have quite three cups of rhubarb, so I added on large apple cut up. I also used 3/4 cup of brown sugar and 1/4 white sugar in the topping, also added in ten or so grahm crackers and sprinkled with cinnimon sugar which was all I had. The topping was crunchy, inside was moist. Made it for my moms birthday tea and cake to have with her Aunt. We all loved it! First time I ever impressed my mom with my baking skills! Thanks Oma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I was one of five people asked to make a Rhubarb cake for my nephew's grad party, I was the last cake to arrive, but the first to be gone! This recipe was GREAT! I did add the extra cup of rhubarb as others suggested, and 1 cup of brown sugar and did 1/2 cup brown sugar with 3/4 cup of white sugar. I will be making this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This review is for all you high altitude bakers out there. I live at 7500 feet. Not extremely high but not sea level either, so many of these cakes don't turn out the same for me as they do for people even 2000 feet lower. The recipe, as written, didn't work that well for me. Although it was tasty and moist, it was dense and somewhat tough/chewy. Not what I thought a cake should be like. Usually I just give up at that point, eat my failure and mark a par for the high altitude course. BUT...this recipe has received 5 stars from a LOT of people. So, I just had to try it again with high altitude adjustments. Below are the adjustments I made, for what turned out to be a completely different cake - moist, yet light and cakey, with a crunchy/crumbly top. I am so excited by the result I just had to share. For the batter: - moved the butter from the topping, down into the batter - reduced sugar in batter to 1c. - reduced the baking soda to 1/2 tsp - added 1 tsp baking powder - added 3T flour - added an egg I started out creaming the butter and sugar. Added eggs and sour cream. Slowly stirred in the dry ingredients, not stirring too much. Then folded in the rhubarb. The topping: 2/3c brown sugar 3/4 tsp cinnamon Temp/time: - temp up to 375 deg - 30 min until golden brown It wouldn't be fair to give the recipe less stars b/c of my altitude. I gave it, 5 stars because my end result is what I think the author intended - and it's darn tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Delicious! I made this twice in one weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Very moist and a great recipe for rhubarb. I made a half batch and served it warm with vanilla ice cream. Loved the crunchy topping. Thanks Alea for sharing your Oma's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Soooo good.This is the recipe I've been looking for, it's pure perfection!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I made a half of recipe using whole grain spelt flour and 1/2 cup dark brown sugar in the cake. I made the topping as written. It was delicious though I thought the topping was a bit too sweet for my taste but after placing a piece in a bowl and smothering it with plain yogurt the sweetness was just right. In an 8x8 metal pan I baked it just 35 minutes. The batter was quite thick spreadable though. Highly recommended with just about any fruit you might choose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Delicious! Made a few suggested changes from other commenters -- I added an additional cup of rhubarb (as I had it already chopped), used half brown sugar in the topping and mixed in the spices to the strusel mixture. I also doubled the strusel mixture for the top as the folks I was making it for LOVE strusel! I think that weighed the cake down too much, but it got rave reviews from my guests. Cake itself was moist and just tart/rhubarb-ey enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAINCLOUD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States