Oma's Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
FAVORITE RECIPE... Made it an easy ONE BOWL RECIPE by whisking together eggs, sour cream (or yogurt or greek yogurt)and sugar and adding a tsp of almond extract, then adding flour with salt and soda mixed into it a bit and mixing that in with a wooden spoon, then dumping the rhubarb in (I use more than it calls for!) and stirring, then pouring into greased pan and baking, subbing the streusel topping (though that is good too!) for a powdered sugar glaze when it comes out of the oven. THAT is fast :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leigha
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Made this with rhubarb from my garden - absolutely delicious! I only used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar and replaced the sour cream with plain greek yogurt. Wonderful! Even was asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Truly awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Wonderful cake. It is very similar to one I received from a friend that did not have the sugary topping, which I loved. I felt the topping was too sweet but my friends said "that made it" so I will continue to use it that way. The only change I made is that , to ease transport I bag the ingredients to assemble and bake at the cabin, and to save a bag I put the cinnamon in the flour and it was, I think, better mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
after reading the reviews, I also cut back on the sugar to 3/4 cup. It was sweet enough and full of flavor. I've made it at least four times with rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Excellent! Another cup rhubarb makes it extra delilicioous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This is a wonderful moist cake with a nice cinnamon flavor. Perfect when you have a lot of rhubarb but don't necessarily want to mix it with other fruit. The tart rhubarb stands very well on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Terrific. We love rhubarb pie (using the Fresh Rhubarb Pie recipe from this site) and can't wait for the season. This year we have a bumper crop of rhubarb and after making several pies, I was looking for a change of pace. This recipe was definitely it. I used the recipe as-is except I used greek yogurt, half brown sugar, and extra cinnamon to suit our personal tastes. I'll definitely make again with and without those changes and in the fall when apples are in season. My college age son is home for the 4th of July weekend so I made this for breakfast. He devoured almost half of it (he's the typical eating machine). We enjoyed it so much that later after our cookout we ignored our other dessert and polished this off with a side of ice cream. Thank you for sharing the recipe! After one use, it is already one of my family's keepers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I was craving rhubarb, and this recipe came with great reviews, so I gave it a shot. Simple to prepare, and very moist, but too sweet for my taste. One of the reviewers made it with half the sugar, so I may try that the next time. After writing the paragraph above, I asked my husband what he thought of it. He loved it, and my 5yo son said he would give it 10 stars, if he could. I'm raising it to a four star, and eating it with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
A great easy recipe. I had company coming and limited ingredients at the cottage so I tried it. Everyone loved it. I was happy to share the recipe with them all. So it will be made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States