Oma's Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
EXCELLENT CAKE! MY TOPPING ENDED UP ON THE BOTTOM TOO BUT WAS SO MOIST AND DELICIOUS! DEFINITELY A KEEPER FOR THE RECIPE BOX :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Very simple and very good! This recipe will definitely help use up the few bags of frozen rhubarb that must go to make room for the spring crop. If the cake is this good with frozen rhubarb, I imagine it will be wonderful with fresh picked. I also used plain yogurt (whole milk) in combination with a few tablespoonfuls of sour cream. Added ~1/8 teaspoon of freshly grated nutmeg to the batter. Moist and delicious! Thank you, Oma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I used frozen rhubarb. The bottom of the cake was too wet. It didn't become soggy even after a week. I just didn't like the texture. I may try it in the summer with fresh rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Delicious rhubarb cake. I followed the instructions exactly and was very pleased with the outcome. This would be good as a dessert cake, but also as a morning coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Love this receipe, but I think the white sugar is a bit of an overload ... the topping would be awesome with brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This cake has been added to my "Last Meal' menu. It will make leaving this world much less painful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j.e.dore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
My husband & I scarfed this whole cake in a day. Unbelievably delicious and moist! I didn't change a thing, except I used 4 cups of rhubarb. I have at least that much left, so guess what I am making again today? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peabozzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I started making this and realized I didn't have any sour cream so I used 3/4 cup buttermilk and it was still great! I will make this again using the correct ingredients, but I can imagine it will only taste better. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I didn't have sour cream, so I used plain milk with 1 T vinegar....it turned out GREAT! You need to leave the milk and vinegar out for about 1/2 hour, so it curdles the milk a bit. Other than that, I made just like the recipe. It is SOOO DELICIOUS! THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This recipe was just what I was looking for. I followed the recipe just the way it was written too. Which is odd for me normally I like to add my own twists. But no chnages needed here. I shared this cake with a large group and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheDish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States