Oma's Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Fantastic, I didn't have any sour cream so I used 8 oz of strawberry yogurt and it was delicious. I also used brown sugar for the crumb topping and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Excellent!! I used Daisy lite sour cream instead of regular and my family loved it! I also made one with frozen strawberries and it was great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
It sounded a little lame when I was looking at the recipe.. but I really wanted to try something new. This is my favorite thing to make with rhubarb now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Very nice but the topping is too much and too sweet. My son said it was like eating sugar cubes! Next time, I will cut it back for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
EXCELLENT CAKE! MY TOPPING ENDED UP ON THE BOTTOM TOO BUT WAS SO MOIST AND DELICIOUS! DEFINITELY A KEEPER FOR THE RECIPE BOX :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Very simple and very good! This recipe will definitely help use up the few bags of frozen rhubarb that must go to make room for the spring crop. If the cake is this good with frozen rhubarb, I imagine it will be wonderful with fresh picked. I also used plain yogurt (whole milk) in combination with a few tablespoonfuls of sour cream. Added ~1/8 teaspoon of freshly grated nutmeg to the batter. Moist and delicious! Thank you, Oma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I used frozen rhubarb. The bottom of the cake was too wet. It didn't become soggy even after a week. I just didn't like the texture. I may try it in the summer with fresh rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Delicious rhubarb cake. I followed the instructions exactly and was very pleased with the outcome. This would be good as a dessert cake, but also as a morning coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Love this receipe, but I think the white sugar is a bit of an overload ... the topping would be awesome with brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This cake has been added to my "Last Meal' menu. It will make leaving this world much less painful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j.e.dore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States