Oma's Rhubarb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Very moist and a great recipe for rhubarb. I made a half batch and served it warm with vanilla ice cream. Loved the crunchy topping. Thanks Alea for sharing your Oma's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Soooo good.This is the recipe I've been looking for, it's pure perfection!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I made a half of recipe using whole grain spelt flour and 1/2 cup dark brown sugar in the cake. I made the topping as written. It was delicious though I thought the topping was a bit too sweet for my taste but after placing a piece in a bowl and smothering it with plain yogurt the sweetness was just right. In an 8x8 metal pan I baked it just 35 minutes. The batter was quite thick spreadable though. Highly recommended with just about any fruit you might choose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Delicious! Made a few suggested changes from other commenters -- I added an additional cup of rhubarb (as I had it already chopped), used half brown sugar in the topping and mixed in the spices to the strusel mixture. I also doubled the strusel mixture for the top as the folks I was making it for LOVE strusel! I think that weighed the cake down too much, but it got rave reviews from my guests. Cake itself was moist and just tart/rhubarb-ey enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAINCLOUD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Delicious and easy to make substitutions. I used yogurt instead of sour cream and brown sugar instead of white in the topping. A moist and flavourful cake - good for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This is very good! I substitued 1 cup of plain greek yogurt for the sour cream due to intolerance. Moist with a cake texture! I just couldn't quit eating it. The first piece I ate right out of the oven, the second piece, I topped with vanilla yogurt, the 3rd piece I ate was warmend with a pat of butter on top. Easy to prepare too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Excellent! You can actually taste the rhubarb. I did add 1 tsp of vanilla and I put the cinnamon right in the topping instead of sprinkling it on after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Made this recipe to use some fresh rhubarb from the garden. Baked in a mini-loaf pan with eight mini-loaves, the batter nearly filled each mini-loaf and then baked up with a nice muffin-esque top. All I had on hand was low fat 5% sour cream, which seems to have worked well with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Seriously fabulous! Added cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla. Even cold it is addicting! Made it for a 4th time subbing 0% greek yogurt and making into "cupcakes" baked for 18 min. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This good, simple cake is best eaten the day it's made. I added a teaspoon of vanilla to the cake, but otherwise made as written. Changes I'll try next time: up the rhubarb to 4 cups, add a bit of cinnamon to batter, cut the topping in half (using brown sugar), and adding chopped walnuts to topping. Worth another try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States